Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 32

Read What Others Are Saying: page 32

1181 ★★★★★ reviews
120 ★★★★ reviews
76 ★★★★★ reviews
56 ★★★★★ reviews
83 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 792 to 816 (of 1516 reviews)


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProIf there is a Grammy Award for stack magic, I would give it to Karma Deck Pro. When I finished reading Karma Deck (so simple that it took me all of 10 minutes to get the whole thing), I thought nothing could beat it. But I just had to start reading Karma Deck Pro to prove myself wrong. Because Pro beats Karma Deck 7 to 1. So many random variations and all so simple and easy. Ridiculously easy suit systems. 9 killer routines which made my own mind race with more routine ideas. First time in my life I bought a 11 ebook bundle for $9 !!! (intro price) On hindsight, I would have happily paid 4 times that price.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2016)

Karma DeckIf there is an Oscar Award for stack magic, I would give it to the Karma Deck without a second thought. The Karma Deck principle has redrawn the very foundations of stack magic as it has been structured so far. The history of stack magic will have 2 clear divisions now. Before Karma Deck and After Karma Deck. For me personally, this has entirely changed my thinking on stack magic and infact removed so many blocks. Calling this simply brilliant will be a gross understatement. Together with Karma Deck Pro and Kommando Kard, I have enough stack magic ammunition for the next decade, at least. I cannot recommend it enough.


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by Doc Harris
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProAn entire system within a single revolutionary idea. The idea which changed stack magic forever. That is the beauty and power of Karma Deck, I think. It was already an easy system, but as I used it more and more, it started becoming so ridiculously easier that now I just 'see' it clearly all the time. And not just one, but all the variations in Karma Deck Pro. The suit systems are really a cake walk. Besides, the routines included are solid and stunning. The whole offering packs a big punch. 11 ebook bundle is great value for money. Highly recommended.


100 Latest Tips on Tricks

reviewed by Angela X (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 30 April, 2016)

100 Latest Tips on TricksFor me, lybrary has become synonymous with 'value for money'. Enjoying these tips on tricks.


Streamlined Newspaper Prediction

reviewed by Gianmarco Malini
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 April, 2016)

Streamlined Newspaper PredictionGreat improptu powerful trick. Well explained and with logical steps and pictures. Great idea Devin A to buy item


Staggered

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 April, 2016)

StaggeredThose of you who are not familiar with the ingenious Eddie Joseph MUST purchase this e-book! Staggered is one of those VERY rare effects that plays even better than it reads...this effect is called 'Staggered' for a very good reason.


Streamlined Newspaper Prediction

reviewed by Mark Chandaue (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 April, 2016)

Streamlined Newspaper PredictionAt $8 this was a bit hard to resist particularly with Devin's track record. Well after reading this all I can say is this is grossly underpriced. The description above is completely accurate. The tearing procedure is completely natural and innocent and yet extremely easy to remember. You can practically pick up a newspaper and perform this impromptu. For me this is a perfect compliment for my eStooge dice as I can know the number before the spectator does. This was money very well spent.


Streamlined Newspaper Prediction

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 April, 2016)

Streamlined Newspaper PredictionThere have been numerous instructors who explained how to tear a newspaper page so that it yielded a piece of newspaper that bore words that had been already predicted by the performer from the beginning, and where its place in the stack of newspaper pieces corresponds to a number chosen at the beginning by the spectator. Devin Knight has actually streamlined the performance of this effect and made it easier for the mentalist to learn and easier to perform. The other versions of this effect have been surpassed and outdone by Devin's ingenuity and by his crystal-clear instructions that are to the point, and which at every step focus on how the effect looks to the mentalist, guiding the reader to giving an applause-worthy performance. This is, now, the best way to achieve the full entertainment value and the full mystery inherent in this effect. Devin Knight has taken this classic effect and both modernized it and simplified it, bringing it within the abilities of today's performer.


Girl in Little House Illusion Revisited

reviewed by Karl Mathers
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

Girl in Little House Illusion RevisitedI performed it in a show last night and people thought I had trap doors and everything, totally fooled them all and dead easy to perform and good fun.


33 Tricks with the PATEO Force

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

33 Tricks with the PATEO ForceThis is a no-brainer. Every mentalist needs to know how to do a PATEO force. You get 33 routines here, at 30 cents a routine. That's a bargain.


Positive Increases

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

Positive IncreasesThis always stays in my wallet. This always works. This always astonishes. There are many different ways to do Positive/Negative. This is my favorite, the one I use. Add a couple of rock-paper-scissors and "which hand" routines to it, and you could literally do an entire close-up set with pieces of paper and no prep. Sure, it's great and loads of fun to do Bank Night with clever props, use a brilliant gimmick like Xpert, or buy a slick commercial book test, but this is what mentalism is all about. It's the ability to do absolutely what you claim to do at a moment's notice. It will take a little practice to get the routine down smoothly, but that's also what mentalism is about--using acting skills and being quick on your feet. There's nothing more satisfying than when folks tell me, "I have absolutely no idea how you did that." I've performed this one more than just about anything else, and I always get that reaction. What blows them away is that they think they know how it's done, but when they try to backtrack it, they can't wrap their minds around the combination of two old principles, which if performed well, are disguised. Highest recommendation.


The Kolophon Revisited

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

The Kolophon RevisitedI agree with everything said by the other reviewers. This is apparently an old principle but one that I'd never seen before. It's not entirely 100% foolproof--and there is some audience management involved--but when it works, it will befuddle even trained professionals because of its subtlety.


The Conversus Clipboard

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

The Conversus ClipboardExcellent instructions for constructing a useful utility prop. Once you get the el cheapo supplies (And you don't need an expensive clipboard. Just get the cheapest, most ordinary looking one at Staples.) Like many of the DIY ebooks here on lybrary, the idea isn't new at all (think Tarbell), but the application to a clipboard is. This will work especially well for Bank Night or a Q&A routine. Recommended.


TC Tahoe Re-Thinks Vol. 9: Out To Lunch

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

TC Tahoe Re-Thinks Vol. 9: Out To LunchTC's stuff is always excellent, but I would save my money and get the expanded version of this material called Lunch is Served, co-written with Paul Romhany. It has these routines and so much more. (One contributed by Banachek called "No Stars" is simply amazing, possibly the single most creative use of the OTL principle.) Unfortunately, it's not available as an ebook.


Predictionary

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

PredictionaryI chuckled out loud when I read what the gimmick was and said to myself, "No way. This won't play at all." Then I made the gimmick (It will cost a couple of bucks in material and the use of a Sharpie), played with it, and thought, "Way! Way cool. It's a keeper." And then I made a backup gimmick. The handling will take a little practice, but this thing can be used as quite the utility device for predictions. In case you are wondering, no, it's not a force. The spectator makes a completely free choice. I use it with a small 40,000-word pocket dictionary. (I have a few of those in my bag, including a gaffed one to do Annemann's 40,000 Words effect.) You can look around to see if you can find the full trick with pre-made gimmicks, but I wouldn't waste time and money. Just download the incredibly reasonable ebook and get going. Work on it, and you'll have a super-nice parlor or stage effect, using a classic routine too. Highly recommended!


Simplex Magazine Test

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 16 April, 2016)

Simplex Magazine TestFor $6, this is a great magazine test that is worth much, much more. Get a couple of different magazines, spend about 20 minutes preparing, and you are ready to go. (I use copies of two Mensa magazines. Seems appropriate. :)) It uses an old book-test principle, but once again, Devin has put together a dynamite effect that will work for close-up, parlor, or stage.


Credit Card Divination

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 16 April, 2016)

Credit Card DivinationThis is a nice completely impromptu effect--within certain limitations. While I knew the "theory" behind it--I think that it's in one of Jon Thompson's Naked Mentalism books--but the working is extremely clever. OK, being able to figure out Mastercard, VISA, American Express, or Diner's Club, by itself, isn't spectacular, but I think that if you do it a couple of times with different folks, it will play well.


Liebrary

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 16 April, 2016)

LiebraryOver the past few years, I've looked at a few dozen smartphone effects. None of them really work for me because they all just scream, "The app does the effect." With ebooks now being commonplace, an ebook test seems entirely appropriate. And this one is terrific. It looks suspicion-free. There is no special app involved. Have somebody pick one of seven PDF books (no shenanigans here, it's a free choice) and then punch in random page number (also a free choice). You immediately can predict the first word on any page in any of the seven books. (Well, almost every page...) The method is ancient, but the styling is new. For a modern close-up book test, with just a little bit of audience management, this is fantastic. Heck, you can even keep the ebooks in cloud storage and download the chosen ebook to the spectator's smartphone or tablet and use his PDF reader app. Did I mention that the entire method takes about three sentences to explain? At 15 clams, this is a bargain for the minds you can blow.


Girl in Little House Illusion Revisited

reviewed by Eric Gumieney (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 16 April, 2016)

Girl in Little House Illusion RevisitedThis is just plain fun. It is a real winner. I smiled as I read the pdf. It reminds me of good old fashioned magic from a bye gone era. Devin Knight does a great job in explaining all that needs to be done to make this effect one that will be talked about long after your show is completed. I'm very pleased with this purchase and I believe you will too. The psychology behind this is insane and FUN!

I highly recommend this.

Eric


Rubik Notes

reviewed by Paul Shepley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 07 April, 2016)

Rubik NotesUnnecessary repetition of diagrams, incomplete information, and dishonest description.

Pages 16 and 17 refer you to the DVD, so if you don’t have that, you cannot learn this method. Speaking of which, it does not have any apparent advantage over any other beginner method, and there is no information or discussion about how you might use it to accomplish a blindfold solve, genuine or otherwise. For example, you position middle layer edge cubies individually with an eight move algorithm, same as every other beginner method. Usually this is done from the top layer into the middle layer, while here you do the opposite.

So, what about the “effects”, and the “killer bonus”?

Basically, three of these “routines” consist of you solving the cube (very unlikely to be a sub 1-minute time, by the way) before a spectator can accomplish some task or the other. Where’s the magic? There is none. It might be impressive done blindfold, but there is NO information on how you might go about learning a blindfold solve, genuine or otherwise.

You also get a method for doing a bag solve effect. The method is truly awful. I don’t want to give anything away here, but it involves the use of dry wipe marker pens applied to the white face of your cube. This makes the cube look mixed up, when it’s not, see? The author suggests you be mindful of the lighting conditions! The author also recommends the use of a ridiculous gimmick for an instant solve effect.

There are other problems with this product, not least being priced at $9 when you can learn more useful information on the Rubik’s website for free.

My advice is:

If you want faster solve times, do online research into speed cubing.

If you want (no-gimmick superior method) effects, try Cube 3 by Steven Brundage.


Perplexities

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 04 April, 2016)

PerplexitiesHaving over thirty of Peter Duffie's works and like Feras A. Alkharboush. His works plus the Feras right up which is in-depth and knowledgeable says it all so I have not read the book ( as Yet )to give a write up as Feras has covered all the important points my only observation is the clear photographs and the fact that if my late friend Kevin Reay was still with us. Late night practice sessions would have been the order and a dozen decks of cards broken in and plenty of practice to do all the effects Peter Duffie has shared with us in this new work


Perplexities

reviewed by Feras A. Alkharboush (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 03 April, 2016)

PerplexitiesGreetings,

Its been a long time since I've read a Duffie book, I jumped in and purchased his latest offering Perplexities as soon as I received the email from Lybrary.com's Chris.

I review products based on the ad copy. You may read an effect there and compare it with my notes. Lets break it down.

Automatic Aces: Cool procedure where the spectator finds the 4 aces. Although a bit discrepant its extraordinarily straight forward. Negatives include a tricky preparation, and while you could open with this, its likely whatever other setups you planned ahead will get destroyed as the spectator is undergoing the procedure.

Rideckulous: If you thought the ad description is odd its because its wrong. The "helpers" ( i.e 2 black Jacks ) sandwich the selection as well as all the cards of the OPPOSITE colour. The direct method allows for a very straightforward trick without any procedure, which is unusual as the whole thing is totally hands off. The price is a setup that you can prepare on the fly at an opportune moment if you can cull your way to a red-black separation.

Natterjacks: The ad is very accurate. From a shuffled deck in use, 3 jacks jump from a spectator's half to yours. The last jack doesn't jump, but rather locates a spectator's selection. The method is very simple yet allows for a very direct effect. I personally find the finale of finding a selection is out of place and may work to change it, though thats a personal choice.

Hellish Prequel: Hellraiser is one of Peter Duffie's more known tricks and this one is intended to be used as a lead in to it. 2 Jacks transpose with 3 cards. One phase, direct method, no extra cards and the deck never in sight. Its a bit discrepant though I believe it'll fly. I use a Marlo version of the Glide and its perfect for this.

Hell Raiser 1-2-3: The original Hellraiser is one of the most direct Elevator routines and this update has made it even more direct. Accurate ad description. No extra cards and no deck is needed. If you enjoy the Elevator plot you'll be hard-pressed to find a more direct method. While I'm not sure I'll use a transposition ( the previous effect ) to lead to an Elevator, that is my personal choice however I would've preferred to read how Mr.Duffie segues to it.

Missing Diamonds: The ad copy is accurate however since its lacking I'll provide some needed background. In the original Alex Elmsley's Diamond Cut Diamond, you openly remove the Ace thru 10 of diamonds and later change any one of them to the selection. It gave the spectator a tremendous amount of freedom rarely captured in other versions but there was a price: It heavily depended on false deals. Alot of variations attempted to address this including many by Peter Duffie himself. Here, the crux of Duffie's idea is allowing the spectator to deal and change the card herself. Its a straightforward method and I believe its a genuine improvement on the original. In my personal view, if the selection is modified somehow as a thought of card, it would provide an extremely eerie feeling to the spectator. Can be done from a shuffled deck. On a side note, as openly arranging the diamond cards is a big dead-time in performance I would produce them magically at the outset. A Dani DaOrtiz effect is great for this though its name escapes me.

Triple Stop by Gene Maze: You and the spectator deal down cards and you both stop at the mates. This is done 3 times. Extremely direct though uses very technical sleights. If you do Jack Merlin's Lost Aces this will immediately go to your repertoire.

Not Your Card: Accurate ad description. I typically despise down-under deals but I love it here as it allows for comedy. Carry the needed "Not Your Card!" in your pocketwallet and you're always ready on the go. Instant reset, zero setups in the deck. I personally think its stunning, comical and very practical. To get the finale you need to palm a card from a small packet which can be tricky. I personally would use Ed Marlo's Future Classic Palm or a Lewy Palm ( Expert Card Technique ). Obviously seasoned magicians can see many additional endings for this ( to wallet, folded card to anywhere .. etc ). Since you're making the comical cards from normal blank cards, you can customize them to any lines or messages you deem fit particularly in a company show.

Too Secret: Vague ad description. You're locating 2 seemingly thought of cards using a procedure that is ( in my opinion ) poorly justified. Even if you do justify it, I personally believe its too procedure heavy to be used for laymen. From a borrowed shuffled deck, so you may enjoy performing it for fellow magicians.

Last Orders: A way to perform Dr.Daley's Last Trick. No routine, just a single phase. I'm not sure how original this is as its virtually identical to Bill Malone's handling of the trick in his On The Loose DVDs with the exception of a handling touch that makes a sleight smoother to get into. Its a nice touch, a good one, but that's it.

I Me Mind: The spectator spells to the mate of his freely thought of card. No procedure except the actual spelling. The effect is short and to the point but with a big price: A big 29-card-setup is needed.

Lying Low: You spell out the spectator's answers to your questions and the deck always reveals the true answer whether the spectator answers truthfully or not. You end up producing the other 3 mates, allowing you to deduce selection. 20-card-setup is needed and I don't see a way to easily arrive to this. Personally I don't see how the setup is worth the amount of magic you're getting though readers' taste may vary, especially Karl Fulve's fans.

------

Overall lots of good material here to cover the price. I tried to elaborate on the ad copy and to mention the negatives when I see them. I like how Peter Duffie's latest work are less focused procedures and more about direct effects. I hope this review was helpful.

Best,

Feras


102 EZ Magic Tricks

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 April, 2016)

102 EZ Magic TricksOver 100 tricks for just 1$?! In these days?! Gotta give it to lybrary. Keep up the good work.


Absolute and Ultimate Coin'cidence

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 April, 2016)

Absolute and Ultimate Coin'cidenceHere the brilliant principle of Coin'cidence is impossibly extended to a mind boggling 7 coin version. The alternative routines with words, numbers, colors, shapes in combo with some other cool methods is very refreshing. An exhaustive treatment of a basically amazing principle. The author displays an unconventionally deceptive thinking style and inspired me to think up some cool ideas myself. Great value for money.


Coin'cidence

reviewed by Simon Hood (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 April, 2016)

Coin'cidenceCoin'cidence, Absolute Coin'cidence & Ultimate Coin'cidence - got this 3 ebook bundle for $27 (I missed the intro offer of $15). Brilliant principles and clever methods. 27 routines in all. Extraordinary range of pocket mentalism using business cards. The author's take on Max Maven's positive/negative is unconventional and killer. For me just this one is worth the cost of the bundle. On the same day I completed reading, could perform it thrice with great success(using invisible coins!). Simple and stunning. I will be using a lot of these routines. Highly recommended.

Displaying 792 to 816 (of 1516 reviews)
< ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 ... >