Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 34

Read What Others Are Saying: page 34

1101 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
54 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 832 to 856 (of 1406 reviews)


Gyrater: Floating and Spinning Deck

reviewed by Timothy Rose (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 20 August, 2015)

Gyrater: Floating and Spinning DeckInteresting... The word cheesy comes to mind. It might play well in a one on one but for a group bigger than say, 2, not a worker effect. Cool looking on video but not a worker.


The Sliding Knot

reviewed by Timothy Rose (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 20 August, 2015)

The Sliding KnotNot nearly what was expected from the description. I may have given it too much personal credit. Very easy to do and makes a great "quickie" when you need to kill a bit of time after a professor's nightmare.


Deckcelence

reviewed by Kumar BNS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 10 August, 2015)

DeckcelenceThis is a very fascinating approach to performing stack based magic. A deck of cards playing up so big and creating such a memorable impact on the audience. If I am to do just one routine on stage I see myself doing this. Simple and stunning.


Deckology Volume 2: Biologic Deck

reviewed by Mhelly Bhumgara
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 09 August, 2015)

Deckology Volume 2: Biologic DeckDeckology adds a brilliant dimension to mentalism with profound patter while performing with a deck of cards . In the Biological deck, the linkage of each of the 52 cards to the human body , could enhance the mystery of the effect and add to the impact of a revalation . Audience members would be in awe of the mentalists with the use of such patter that could portray a deep knowlege of the human body and anatomy .

I found the suggestive high impact phrases and psychological images very interesting .......and these could be powerful tools to add verbal and visual shine to performances !


Amazers with Karma Deck

reviewed by Kumar BNS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 06 August, 2015)

Amazers with Karma DeckSheer brilliance born out of utter simplicity. “Amazers” truly amazes!


The Psychology of Magic

reviewed by Rajat Mittal (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 24 July, 2015)

The Psychology of MagicI think its important to find out that only the first 30 minutes of this audio talks about "the psychology of magic". The second 30 minutes describes the author's close-up restaurant routine. The description of the routine is interesting, as it is well thought out, and there are some interesting variations to standard marketed tricks. This was somewhat different to my expectations. I expected about 50 minutes on theory, with maybe a slightly nod to his current routine at the end, by way of illustrating the theory.

On the first 30 minutes, Dr Nagler discusses one very specific aspect the performer-audience relationship. He makes the point that at a fundamental psychological level, people don't like being fooled and this causes resentment and other negative attitudes towards magicians. He then offers four (and a half) strategies that a magician can use to work around this problem. Some of these ideas are found in other books on magical theory, but nevertheless, Dr Nagler does add some interesting ideas to the discussion.


X-Jargon

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 20 July, 2015)

X-JargonI remember reading this as a young boy interested in magic. I laughed my head off reading it again. Can't wait to try this bit again, especially good to have a friend stand up and say I know how that was done and give the explanation in x-jargon. This could be hilarious to an audience.


Hat-A-Rama

reviewed by Devin Knight
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 19 July, 2015)

Hat-A-RamaAlthough honeycomb hats are temporarily not available from the source given in the PDF. They are still available worldwide. You need only go to Google and search for China Honeycomb Vase Hat and you will find hundreds of companies selling the hats. In some cases, you can buy just one hat and get free shipping to the USA. This is a great alternative until someone buys the company and once again makes the hats available in the USA.


Hat-A-Rama

reviewed by Timothy Rose (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 19 July, 2015)

Hat-A-RamaA great little book on the topic of the use of transforming hats to add a little something special to any show. Sad to report, the resource suggested in the book for obtaining these hats is retiring and selling the business. They are currently entertaining a few offers for the business but not producing product in the interim. There are other sources for the product if you internet "dig" just a bit. I am on the mailing list for updates on when the product will once again be available. When I receive the word I will e-mail lybrary.com the newest resource. DO NOT let this stop you from purchasing now. The techniques and patter are worth every penny even without the suggested prop.


Three Graces

reviewed by Gerard Zitta
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 July, 2015)

Three GracesThe drawing can be easily modified to make it more modest and prude, by sticking 3 colored dots.


News of the World

reviewed by David Longley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 16 July, 2015)

News of the WorldThe description of this effect is misleading, in my opinion. It requires the use of a trained c***f*****te for the "amazing" version. Sure, you can do it without help but it requires a significant amount of "handling" by the performer which dilutes the wow factor significantly, in my opinion. Since I am only interested in performing solo the effort involved in the preparation and performance is not "paid off" in terms of having a killer effect for the audience. I have several other products by this author that I enjoy but the marketing of this effect lead to expectations that were not met. Therefore, I was a bit disappointed with this particular one.


Three Graces

reviewed by Alan Meyers (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 15 July, 2015)

Three GracesPerhaps I am overly sensitive, but this trick seems to me to border on the mildly indecent. The "gag" is not one I would share with children, nor with most adult audiences for whom I might perform. I might have guessed that from the description of the trick, but I did not, and I want to warn off anyone who might feel as I do about this trick. At the same time, what I am saying in this review might have the opposite effect and actually attract some people to buy the trick. So I don't feel too bad about doing a negative review. :-)


6 Hallucinations

reviewed by Howard Port (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 12 July, 2015)

6 Hallucinations6 Hallucinations by Marlo is taken from the pages of Ben Harris’ New Directions magazine.

Right on the cover it says “Not for Beginners” and I concur.

Five methods are given for producing the effect in which three spectators are each shown the top card, each one sees a different card, and then the card is shown as a joker. The cards seen are then produced from the pocket.

The methods are more or less graduated in difficulty, starting with gimmicked cards and ending with a method using palms, lapping, and a Curry change.

This is Marlo’s style giving multiple methods for the same effect. Not all the slights are described; one of the suggested palms may be found in Marlo without Tears.

I enjoy reading Marlo, even if I don’t always attempt the effects.


Who Done It?

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 06 July, 2015)

Who Done It?A very novel murder mystery routine that could be an act in itself. Makes the perfect party piece. A clever story, with the options for comedy that leads to a surprising and unexpected climax. This is something I will use and a real bargain at $4.00.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Jim Canaday
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 06 July, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaIt is always interesting when an artist who is known as a “Cardician” puts out a new publication with no card tricks. (“Arcade Dream!” by Ed Marlo comes to mind). Paul Lelekis’ new tome, “Close-Up Utopia” from Lybrary.com features seven effects, none involving cards. The publication is of the usual Lelekis quality and has some fun stuff for the average magician (no knuckle busters!) I particularly liked his Impromptu Mental Epic done with business cards. Not only is it impromptu, but a way to give out your card as a souvenir. He credits Andrew Mayne with the idea for Phantom Bill but there is also a similar routine called “The Tokyo Penetration” by Ryu Susato in Kaufman’s “Japan Ingenious”. I am impressed that Paul takes the time to credit extensively. This is 10 bucks well spent.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 July, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaA fantastic ebook again by Paul! You get 7 great tricks using everyday objects. If you want to make your repertoire more colourful, you and your spectators are bored of card tricks and want to find some workers then please get this ebook. The ebook also contains an essay about spectator management and how and when to execute sleights which worth the price of the book.


At the Table

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 July, 2015)

At the TableJon Racherbaumer is a "magician's magician" and his magic is not only entertaining, but in Jon's hands it is inexplicable! I have been a huge fan of his for many, many years and I think that Jon's influence on my approach to magic has made me a better entertainer! Read what he has offered in this remarkable e-book - you won't be sorry!!


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Douglas Lippert
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 July, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaAnother treasure trove of magical information from the fertile mind of Paul Lelekis. Paul's drops the real work on audience control and executing sleights for maximum deception and entertainment in his introduction. This is a masterclass in magic. Worth the price of the e-book alone.

Paul has carved a name for himself with his card work but here Paul is dipping in the well and tipping his non-card work which is just as exemplary!

Paul raise your prices! This stuff is too good.

IMPROMPTU MENTAL EPIC - Is a great way to do Mental Epic anytime, anywhere! I really liked that this version of Mental Epic is totally gimmick free with a clean, smooth, handling. This is going into my repertoire as a mentalism closer.

TORN & RESTORED STRAW WRAPPER - This is a classic of magic. I really enjoyed Paul's take on Skinner's take on Leipzig’s Torn & Restored cigarette paper. Paul has simplified the handling but retained all of the magic. This is just plain good magic. I love all the one liners that Paul provides for the patter. The #1 patter line is hilarious!

THE PHANTOM BILL - This is one of my favorite pieces of magic in this e-book. This is an epic version of the bill through bill. It's totally impromptu with borrowed bills. Paul's version utilizes little cover. The melt through looks like real magic!

PRESTO CHANGO AGAINO - Another gem of a routine from Paul. Finally gives us coin magicians a reason to dig out the old C/S coin. Paul goes for the spectator's jugular by providing 4 moments of high impact magic with a clean reset for table hoppers. I love this routine.

RESEALED CELLOPHANE - This is a clever routine that I can perform at parties "off the cuff" with a pack of cigarettes. Very simple setup and clean handling. Paul tips his clever presentation that justifies using cigarettes. A very visual routine for adults. Paul, give us an e-cigarette version!

CUT & RESTORED STRING- This is a cool opener for any type of ring and string effects. Simple to do but still magical. The best part is you end clean!

Hot Rod - Paul tips the real work on performing the paddle move that one only gains through years of performing this type of effect for real people. Paul tips a clever Melvin Burkhart subtlety. Worth the price of the e-book by itself!


The Magic of Marconick

reviewed by Keith Faler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 June, 2015)

The Magic of MarconickThe picture quality is not good, and it's kinda fuzzy. But hey, it's a rare and good piece of magic demonstration video. It's just his prospective on showing his type of magic, that is seldom seen, in a modern magic show. Maybe you can be inspired, to come up with your own ideas. And put them in your own shows. I highly recommend this video clip.


Manipulation Balls Lecture

reviewed by Keith Faler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 June, 2015)

Manipulation Balls LectureI have had other billiard balls videos before. And the Peki video gives his prospective and techniques, on handling the balls. The video is very good, in my opinion. Also, I believe that some of the information is hard to find, anywhere else. It's definitely a great start, in learning billiard ball manipulation. I highly recommend this video.


A Lifetime in Magic

reviewed by Devin Knight (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 June, 2015)

A Lifetime in MagicThis is a wonderful book on the life of Percy Abbott, it still leaves you wondering if he was a good guy or bad guy. The information that he shares about the famous magicians he knew is enlightening. Where people like Walter Gibson sugar coated the truth, Abbott gives the real low down and dirt on some of the people, including the ongoing disagreement between Howard Thurston and his brother, Harry. It is a shame that he didn't go into his falling out with Blackstone. There is little about the Abbott Magic Company, but he said if he lived, he would write about it. That never happened, still this is a must read for magic history buffs.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Shahzad Nizam (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 June, 2015)

Karma DeckI am using Karma deck. The System is extremely Practical. I love the idea.. very easy.. very nice..I am glad that I learned the system.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 28 June, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaClose-Up Utopia: No Cards is Paul Lelekis’s latest book with one essay and seven effects.

These are the main reasons why you should seriously consider this book. Paul IS a working professional. This is a book with NO card tricks. His patter and routining ARE time-tested.

Learn from his wisdom from the trenches of performing experience. Thus, his Introduction, ‘Spectator Management Successful Execution of Sleights’ should be read first, and then again. Paul’s Introductions are a highlight of his many books.

My favourite pieces are ‘Presto Chango Againo’ – a copper & silver transposition with purpose, and use of an overlooked sleight. ‘Impromptu Mental Epic’ got me seriously thinking about performing mentalism close-up again. ‘Phantom Bill’ gives you a ‘linkage’ to ‘Rollover Bills’, with a Misled effect. Interestingly, I gave ‘Hot Rod’ a serious relook with Paul’s preferred ending about ‘permanence’.

Paul, enthusiastically, encourages us go back to our Tools of the Trade, and we have many! I am actually considering using paddles all over again! If you want to get a buzz about magic, read this book, practise, and perform magic – your utopia may be just around you.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Bob Solari
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Close-Up Utopia'Utopia (noun)'. "An imaginary place where all things are perfect." Paul is known all over the world for his amazing routines with cards...but THIS book is a breath of fresh air for those NOT into card magic. After reading Paul's thoughts and routines, it put me in a place where all things ARE perfect! Great job, Paul. I highly recommend this collection of well thought out routines to anyone!


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaPaul's "Close-Up Utopia" is a welcome change for those of us who follow his magic and religiously purchase his ebooks. It's not that I don't love the card related material.. I do.. but magic is not made with cards alone. Sometimes we actually have to get out into the real world and make a buck or two with our table hopping or busking. Close-Up Utopia provides great material for both. The Impromptu Mental Epic can be performed with playing cards..but it can be performed equally well with business cards. This is a great way to get your cards out there. The other effects use common items like a straw wrapper, dollar bills, a cigarette pack, a couple of coins, a string and the mesmerising Hot Rods. Everything can be easily carried in a pocket or garnered at tableside.

Paul's last few ebooks have included a bonus section detailing invaluable advice from a veteran performer. Close-Up Utopia includes a very detailed section on audience control and the professional use of sleights. I REALLY enjoy his thoughts and advice, and delving deep into the what's and why's of performing magic suits Paul to a tee. You certainly won't be left wanting if you purchase CLOSE-UP UTOPIA.

Displaying 832 to 856 (of 1406 reviews)
< ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 ... >