Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 38

Read What Others Are Saying: page 38

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
111 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 934 to 958 (of 1408 reviews)


The Triple

reviewed by William Lainsbury (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 28 November, 2014)

The TripleStop!..watch every bit of the handling several times before tossing this aside as being involved or difficult. IT IS NOT.

The routine is a masterpiece of constructed sequences which is SIMPLE..hard hitting and a working mans dream.

Cameron Francis..this is MAGIC!!!

Billy Benbo UK


A Topological Trio

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 24 November, 2014)

A Topological TrioPaul's e-books are a treat to read, and a joy to apply. He is an active writer and product critic for IBM's The Linking Ring magazine, and he asserts the same rigorous standards to his own work. In a unique twist (no pun intended), he shares his thoughts on topology and effects related to three-dimensional planes. Other than the large body of work of the late-English magician Terri Rogers on topology, Paul re-introduces this overlooked area with his professional applications to three main areas: Namely, a new and novel Torn & Restored Card routine (its construction is elusive, sensible and it can be given out), presentations for the Mobius Strips, and a simple (but logical) finish for Card Warp. Highly recommended.’

- Enrico Varella, Vice-President IBM Ring 115


A Topological Trio

reviewed by Bob Solari
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 24 November, 2014)

A Topological Trio"As always, Paul Lelekis delivers the goods! A TOPOLOGICAL TRIO is NO exception! Great plots with simple handling! A MUST for any serious performer!" - Bob Solari


Easy Card Stuff

reviewed by Peter Daniel
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 24 November, 2014)

Easy Card StuffThis little gem is worth its (virtual) weight in gold. Twenty-four really interesting and good card tricks I can use. They really are gems. Paul Gordon knows how to create card tricks that are both very magical and entertaining.


Automatic Placements

reviewed by Tony Bianco
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 22 November, 2014)

Automatic PlacementsOK, I reviewed all of Nick's other booklets so I might as well review this one. The highlight of Nick's latest publication is definitely, THINK STOP. A well thought out way of locating and revealing two thought of cards with two spectators. All of Nick's books are worth it and you will get something out of each one.


Overboard

reviewed by Joel Kaplan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 November, 2014)

OverboardExcellent, clever routine. For 5 bucks, you can't go wrong. And it's for a good cause. Get it!

Joel K.


Tri-Unison

reviewed by Tony Bianco
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 12 November, 2014)

Tri-UnisonI have bought all three of Nicks effects and all are worthy of purchases. There are 2 versions of this trick, one that involves the counting of two cards and the other has no counting. The first one would cater to the mentalists out there and the second to the pure card guys. For only six dollars you can't go wrong.

I really liked Nick's thinking on all of his effects and would recommend getting them all, you won't be disappointed, at least I wasn't. Looking forward for more from Nick.


An Impromptu Mental Card Routine

reviewed by Tony Bianco
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 08 November, 2014)

An Impromptu Mental Card RoutineThe first trick alone in the book is worth the asking price. It is finding a selected card that will seem impossible. I have never seen the method in print before. The second trick I have seen be used in other effects but basically you are performing this one to set up the deck for the third effect. The last one is very good also as two selected cards are found located in the same position in two separate halves.

My favorite as you can tell was the first effect but overall definitely worth the purchase.


Pocket Riser

reviewed by Mike Ihrig
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 07 November, 2014)

Pocket RiserI was really going to purchase another effect, but this one caught my eye. I am not an origami/paper folding type person, but this was none of that. With just a glue stick, scissors, tape and a couple of other things plus about one half hour you can have the device made. (I do plan on making a more professional looking one, but my prototype works fine.) The MP4 session is twenty-eight minutes long, very concise and the spoken English is no problem. I don't think I will have the post it note signed as it happens after the card rise, but other than that, this is a gem. For a $5.00 investment and some items you probably already have lying around the house, you can't go wrong.


Lewis Ganson Manipulation

reviewed by Amado Narvaez
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 04 November, 2014)

Lewis Ganson ManipulationI have been waiting a long time for the films that Ganson made for Harry Stanley's Unique Studios to be transferred to video! Although there is no explanation of the moves, the silent video is a great complement to the manipulation books that Ganson wrote.

I'm clicking on the "Good Button" in the rating choices, but for its historic value alone, this video is _excellent_.

----- Amado "Sonny" Narvaez


Ponsin on Conjuring

reviewed by William Lainsbury (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 28 October, 2014)

Ponsin on ConjuringIf you want to know WHERE the effects of today came from then you would find none better than this little Gem.

If you want to be the best in what you do then the History of your subject should be the first step on the road.

Take this walk through time and Enjoy.

Billy Benbo UK 2014


2 As 4 Count

reviewed by William Lainsbury (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 28 October, 2014)

2 As 4 CountA very useful handling from the Lybrary which has many uses. The demo sequence does take some hard looking and dissecting to get what is required in the handling but once you do get the fingers and flow action running right..it looks really natural.

It took about an hour to get it as shown in the clip.

I give it four as I feel the clip should slow up the finger sequence a little more clearly.

Go forth and spend your pennies..its well worth it.

Billy Benbo UK 28/10/2014


Paul Gordon Bundle 2

reviewed by Tom Style
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 23 October, 2014)

Paul Gordon Bundle 2My favorites here include Explorations and The Real Secrets of Card Magic. The former contains great thinking based around some smart math-based magic and Real Secrets will help any budding performer. Astounding value.


Paul Gordon Bundle 1

reviewed by Tom Style
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 23 October, 2014)

Paul Gordon Bundle 1I've always been a big fan of Paul Gordon's card magic and here you get an amazing value bundle. Top drawer magic. My favorites here are the 16th Card Books. Great value and what a line up of the world's best creators. Highly recommended.


The Gimmick MagiZette: Volume 3, Issue 6 (Jun - Aug 2014)

reviewed by Don Wiberg
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 17 October, 2014)

The Gimmick MagiZette: Volume 3, Issue 6 (Jun - Aug 2014)WOW! What a fantastic issue of TGM. I can't believe how much magic and news you are able to squeeze into 44 pages. You are to be commended. How do you do it? Your tribute to Aldo was very touching. His trick with the ESP cards looks interesting. I also enjoyed reading about Harold Taylor. Ring 43 in Chicago once had him lecture and perform on their annual show. I still have his lecture notes in my file. He was a very funny man who left this world much too soon. It was also nice to see the cartoon and photo of George Johnstone. He and Betty were good friends of ours. I still have an autographed picture that he gave me on my 40th birthday. I can't wait to make up a set of envelopes with the imbedded needle. I have a magnetic ring, but have never found a good use for it until now. I offer you my sincere thanks for sending me TGM and wish you much success for future issues. Please, let me know if I can help in any way. Kindest Regards, Don ---------------------------------------- Sent from my iPad Don Wiberg, Past Int’l President of I.B.M. (USA), Int’l Secretary of I.B.M. (USA)


Hoax Issue 1

reviewed by Mark Dilliway (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 04 October, 2014)

Hoax Issue 1This is a little gem of a magazine. Well written, easy to understand, with no jargon or fluff. Is there practice to be done? isn't there always? But believe me the practice will really pay off, as there are a lot of workers here. Well done to this team, looking forward to the next edition. I'm hooked!


Hoax Issue 1

reviewed by Keith Breen (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 October, 2014)

Hoax Issue 1Magic's good, by guys who've done their homework.

Of the 5 effects 4 can be done anytime, contain a bit of flash and are good. The 5th a bit of setup but there's a time and place for everything.

Guys who do magic and like 'thinking on their feet will adapt these in a heartbeat

No filler, no bs. If all books were written this way that old saying of 'if you want to keep a secret just put it in a book' would be totally false. LOVED the writing & style.


The Tie Pitch

reviewed by David Devlin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 September, 2014)

The Tie PitchThis is a wonderful act. It is funny, and has a lot of magic packed into it. Even if you never perform it, you should own this. It will teach you how to construct a full act, and character development. And if nothing else, it is a great read.


My Q and A

reviewed by William OConnell (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 25 September, 2014)

My Q and AOver the past 12 months I've focused a great deal of time and attention learning as much as I can about the Q&A routine. There are 'pre-packaged' kits that cost $70 to $300, printed books, ebooks, audio programs, and a handful of DVDs on Q&A. I've picked up something of value from each one I've purchased. Some I really liked, but many just were not for me.

My Q and A by Scott Creasey is on the short list of resources I consider top shelf, A+ material. In particular, My Q and A is not theory, it is a full routine, very well thought out, beautifully sequenced, with very clever thinking and a brilliant ending. What makes this book particularly valuable is it's all here...everything spelled out in detail with clear instructions. You will need to buy some envelopes, paper and pens, but that's it.

If you want to get started performing Q&A and want a complete, field-tested, proven, powerful routine, My Q and A would be my # 1 recommendation.


The Shadow Placement

reviewed by Tony Bianco
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 23 September, 2014)

The Shadow PlacementExcellent thinking here. Nick credits Alex Elmsley and if you are into card magic and read his first two volumes you'll know what a great card man he was. This is very easy to do but a real fooler. I have only read the first two effects and already got my money's worth. Get this, you won't be sorry.


The Invisible Thread Manual or The String Book

reviewed by Bill Lainsbury
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 14 September, 2014)

The Invisible Thread Manual or The String BookDuring my years in Berlin during the cold war I came to know and respect the members of the Berlin magic circle.

Ralf Wichman became a life long friend during which we had many meetings on both sides of the channel.

It was with great pleasure that I sat for hours with Ralf writing and editing the English part of the book (with translation from the German text) alongside step by step demonstration and performance by Ralf as we progressed.

When that task was finally finished I took it over to Kens place and demonstrated a couple of the contents...he was enthused and immediately asked I arrange for copies to be sent him direct...he was an honorable man who ALWAYS payed his dues and gave credits where due.".

You NEED this book. This is without doubt the Grand master of levitation.

That is how Ralf and Ken's memories will be kept alive in magic halls of fame.


Bookworm: The Ultimate Impromptu Book Test Act

reviewed by Ewen Wilson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 12 September, 2014)

Bookworm: The Ultimate Impromptu Book Test ActThis book test is everything that David says it is in the advertisement. He has taken two separate book tests and very cleverly routined them to create a third. This is truly a blow away piece of mentalism when performed to lay people and would fool the vast majority of magicians also. The structuring is terrific and the test is suitable for private performances at a party in someone's house, on the radio or on stage or any stand up set. I tend to agree with David that it is strongest when performed impromptu I don't think there is a snowballs chance in hell of your participants or spectators being able to backtrack the method. I've performed the original two tests on many occasions over the years and when I read David's eBook it was one of those "Why didn't I think of that" moments! A fellow mentalist saw me performing this a couple of years ago and immediately bought it. To this day it is the only book test he is interested in performing. The reason I'm posting this review is that a couple of days ago a young mentalist I am friendly with contacted me to say that he had performed one of the tests in this effect at a birthday party the night before to very strong effect. I decided to recommend Bookworm to him and I was just checking for any reviews that had been published since I purchased it a couple of years ago. I discovered that Jeff Stone had posted a very positive review on You Tube.I had one issue with Jeff's review he mentioned that there is a one time preparation that you have to do that would take a few hours. In my opinion this is completely inaccurate, it is a very short memorisation that Jeff is referring to that should take no more than five to fifteen minutes even for someone who has no knowledge of memory techniques. At the price this an absolute cracker and I know for a fact that when I've performed it, it was talked about for sometime afterwards. I don't know David I've only ever been in contact with him once to leave feedback on how it played out in performance. I would highly recommend this book test.


The Invisible Gun

reviewed by Madison Hagler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 September, 2014)

The Invisible GunI really really really like this release. If you see it as just an effect to perform, it's not that great. But used in conjunction with a routine, this could be a very effective gag/addition. I am trying to come up with a routine to use it with in my kid shows. The bang you get is pretty loud. I think it could easily be heard from the back of a small theater. It doesn't use any chemicals or fire things of any kind. The method is VERY simple., but I am a big believer that simplicity isn't always bad. In this case, I think this method is the perfect solution to this desired effect. I bought a supply of gimmicks that will last for years for only $5 at my local walmart. This is definitely worth getting. Great work, Devin!


Contact

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 September, 2014)

ContactVery detailed as is all of Devlin's material that I have purchased. I realy like the overall effect and thinking behind the routine. He does not include a script just the workings of the effect. You will need a little something that is difficult to find. He does provide a source. If you elect not to purchase this little device he does give two alternative handlings - though not as strong as the original. After reading the manuscript it did get me thinking of other options as well as other methods. I would recommend for purchase


Paul Gordon Bundle 2

reviewed by Peter Pritchard
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 31 August, 2014)

Paul Gordon Bundle 2The Unexpected Card Book and Explorations are the highlights here. The tricks are all easy to semi advanced...which means I can do them. I saw Harry Lorayne do a couple of them in New York and he said they were that good they were going to be in his (then) new book, Best Of Friends 3. Anyway...I highly recommend this bundle. Thank you Mr. Gordon.

Displaying 934 to 958 (of 1408 reviews)
< ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 ... >