Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 37

Read What Others Are Saying: page 37

1251 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 912 to 936 (of 1636 reviews)


Magicseen No. 68 (May 2016)

reviewed by Michael Lyth (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 19 May, 2016)

Magicseen No. 68 (May 2016)To my shame I have not subscribed to Magicseen as no shelf space left for real books. The article by the magazine editor Mark Leveridge is easy reading on the passing of the late Paul Daniels and if I did subscribe to a paper issue I would get a PDFs copy free, now if I can convince my better half Gillian to let me put a book shelf up? I was totally surprised by the quality of contents of this magazine could not fault it.


Scarne on Card Tricks

reviewed by Daniel Horn
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 18 May, 2016)

Scarne on Card TricksThis is a great book on card magic. Period. There are lots of great effects contributed by great magicians.

Forget the comments about non-sleight-of-hand that are always attached to this book.

Yes, it was written so that, for example, card forces are always replaced with something much simpler (the "10-20" force).

If you are new to card magic, then you may want to learn the tricks as written. Otherwise, you should read the book with the idea of keeping the effect but putting back in sleights that make the effects stronger (e.g., eliminate counting procedures such as the above-mentioned force).


The Assistant Test

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2016)

The Assistant TestThis is a very clever performance piece that strongly attracts and holds the interest of spectators through the brilliant application of the experienced magician’s ability to direct and manipulate a spectator’s attention. Devin Knight shares with all of us this distillation of his performer’s experience. Although math facts, and also the calendar are utilized, this entertaining piece pivots on the magician’s knowledge of what people will typically notice, and what they usually don’t take notice of. The math facts and calendar facts are treated as everyday life without snobbery, and this is a handy performance piece that can occupy those moments in the performer’s act that do not need him to do an effect. Like tying your shoes, you will have numerous uses for this. Well written and illustrated, Devin Knight has given us a gem.


The Professional Touch

reviewed by Devin Knight
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 May, 2016)

The Professional TouchProbably the best book ever written on the presentation of magic! Chris has done the magic world a great service by making this available again. I remember reading this as a teenager and it changed the way I looked at magic FOREVER. If you wonder how I become so clever, well this book was the starting point. This should be required reading for anyone doing magic! My highest recommendations.


Tarot Reading Master Class

reviewed by Ronald Levy (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 May, 2016)

Tarot Reading Master ClassAfter the many tarot books I have read, always finding these books unclear about how to actually read a card for a querent, I was truly pleased to find Jesse's "Tarot Reading Master Class", because, at long last, I had found an approach to reading the cards that was practical and would make sense to both the reader and the querent. Without plunging deep into the depths of the symbolism of ancient mysticism in every tarot card, The "Tarot Reading Master Class" smoothly gives the reading from Jesse's unique method, which is as functional as it is fun, and for reading the cards is all you need for the job and is an indispensable tool for the mentalist.


Kommando Kard

reviewed by Kumar BNS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 May, 2016)

Kommando KardEven in my wildest dreams, I could not have thought of performing stack magic without a deck of cards. Kommando Kard is an unbelievably simple idea which is mind blowingly powerful.This will be one more bench mark in stack magic by the Unknown Mentalist. The 15 routines provided are extraordinary. Very easy, very deceptive, very stunning. The brilliant high point is some of the routines can be performed even without knowing the Karma Deck. Those are so deliciously self working.


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by Kumar BNS (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 07 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProI am a big fan of Karma Deck. Using it for about 9 months now. My opinion this is a landmark in stack magic. And now Karma Deck Pro is a leap forward for the Karma Deck system. The suit systems are simply brilliant. So easy that I got them instantly, as soon as I read it. The routines in 'Gaspers' are easy to do and big on impact. The concept of 'Karma Pairs' is path breaking. Discovering so many wonderful aspects of the Karma Deck is by itself an education in stack magic. Above all, the 'psychology of stack magic' is eye opening, especially the question 'which hat you are wearing'. Once again, Unknown Mentalist has packed so much value into this release (11 ebook bundle? crazy!!).


Roly-Poly

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 06 May, 2016)

Roly-PolyRoly-Poly is a charming effect where the magician begins by bending a quarter repeatedly in order to soften the metal and then rolls the metal in his hand to form a metallic ball that is then given out to a spectator. This is an entertaining exhibition of conjuring with a delightful conclusion, and can amaze both children and adults. Every performer will be able to deliver an impressive experience of magic with Roly-Poly. Devin Knight's instructions are easy to follow and have helpful illustrations. Don't allow the price to mislead you: This is a gem


Kommando Kard

reviewed by Balasubramanian Chandran (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 May, 2016)

Kommando KardIs there no end to the unconventional thinking of the Unknown Mentalist? Once again, like Karma Deck itself, this idea of Kommando Kard is an unbelievable twist in the field of stack magic. A truly great idea of performing stack magic and card mentalism even without a deck of cards. I think this will start a new genre of stack magic and even card mentalism. Amazing range of 15 killer routines with just one Kommando Kard in your pocket. This is mind boggling. Excellent buy.


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by Balasubramanian Chandran (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProFor almost a year now, Karma Deck has been my 'go to' stack. Fantastic principle. Now Karma Deck Pro adds more strength to an already great stack. Powerful variations which make the stack so random. Yet retaining the simplicity and ease of use which are fundamental strengths of the Karma Deck. The suit systems are killer. Even a kid can pick them up easily. Very flexible. A wide range of 9 great routines. Actually you can make an entire card act out of this 11 ebook bundle. The psychology of stack magic is very well explained. One of my top purchases in terms of value and quality.


110 Tricks with a Stripper Deck

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2016)

110 Tricks with a Stripper DeckNever thought a stripper deck can have such wide ranging uses. One of the classics of card magic with so many tricks for this price is a steal. Go for it.


Kommando Kard

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2016)

Kommando KardIf there is an Emmy Award for stack magic, I would give it to Kommando Kard. I bow to the Unknown Mentalist for his devious mind and extraordinary out of box thinking. Kommando Kard is more like a one man army or a multipurpose swiss army knife. The very premise of deckless card magic and that too stack magic is mind blowing. 15 killer routines on this theme is a great achievement. KK will now be a permanent occupant of my wallet.


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProIf there is a Grammy Award for stack magic, I would give it to Karma Deck Pro. When I finished reading Karma Deck (so simple that it took me all of 10 minutes to get the whole thing), I thought nothing could beat it. But I just had to start reading Karma Deck Pro to prove myself wrong. Because Pro beats Karma Deck 7 to 1. So many random variations and all so simple and easy. Ridiculously easy suit systems. 9 killer routines which made my own mind race with more routine ideas. First time in my life I bought a 11 ebook bundle for $9 !!! (intro price) On hindsight, I would have happily paid 4 times that price.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Scott Druid (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 May, 2016)

Karma DeckIf there is an Oscar Award for stack magic, I would give it to the Karma Deck without a second thought. The Karma Deck principle has redrawn the very foundations of stack magic as it has been structured so far. The history of stack magic will have 2 clear divisions now. Before Karma Deck and After Karma Deck. For me personally, this has entirely changed my thinking on stack magic and infact removed so many blocks. Calling this simply brilliant will be a gross understatement. Together with Karma Deck Pro and Kommando Kard, I have enough stack magic ammunition for the next decade, at least. I cannot recommend it enough.


Karma Deck Pro

reviewed by Doc Harris
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 02 May, 2016)

Karma Deck ProAn entire system within a single revolutionary idea. The idea which changed stack magic forever. That is the beauty and power of Karma Deck, I think. It was already an easy system, but as I used it more and more, it started becoming so ridiculously easier that now I just 'see' it clearly all the time. And not just one, but all the variations in Karma Deck Pro. The suit systems are really a cake walk. Besides, the routines included are solid and stunning. The whole offering packs a big punch. 11 ebook bundle is great value for money. Highly recommended.


100 Latest Tips on Tricks

reviewed by Angela X (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 30 April, 2016)

100 Latest Tips on TricksFor me, lybrary has become synonymous with 'value for money'. Enjoying these tips on tricks.


Streamlined Newspaper Prediction

reviewed by Gianmarco Malini
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 April, 2016)

Streamlined Newspaper PredictionGreat improptu powerful trick. Well explained and with logical steps and pictures. Great idea Devin A to buy item


Staggered

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 April, 2016)

StaggeredThose of you who are not familiar with the ingenious Eddie Joseph MUST purchase this e-book! Staggered is one of those VERY rare effects that plays even better than it reads...this effect is called 'Staggered' for a very good reason.


Streamlined Newspaper Prediction

reviewed by Mark Chandaue (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 April, 2016)

Streamlined Newspaper PredictionAt $8 this was a bit hard to resist particularly with Devin's track record. Well after reading this all I can say is this is grossly underpriced. The description above is completely accurate. The tearing procedure is completely natural and innocent and yet extremely easy to remember. You can practically pick up a newspaper and perform this impromptu. For me this is a perfect compliment for my eStooge dice as I can know the number before the spectator does. This was money very well spent.


Streamlined Newspaper Prediction

reviewed by Ronald M Levy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 April, 2016)

Streamlined Newspaper PredictionThere have been numerous instructors who explained how to tear a newspaper page so that it yielded a piece of newspaper that bore words that had been already predicted by the performer from the beginning, and where its place in the stack of newspaper pieces corresponds to a number chosen at the beginning by the spectator. Devin Knight has actually streamlined the performance of this effect and made it easier for the mentalist to learn and easier to perform. The other versions of this effect have been surpassed and outdone by Devin's ingenuity and by his crystal-clear instructions that are to the point, and which at every step focus on how the effect looks to the mentalist, guiding the reader to giving an applause-worthy performance. This is, now, the best way to achieve the full entertainment value and the full mystery inherent in this effect. Devin Knight has taken this classic effect and both modernized it and simplified it, bringing it within the abilities of today's performer.


Girl in Little House Illusion Revisited

reviewed by Karl Mathers
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

Girl in Little House Illusion RevisitedI performed it in a show last night and people thought I had trap doors and everything, totally fooled them all and dead easy to perform and good fun.


33 Tricks with the PATEO Force

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

33 Tricks with the PATEO ForceThis is a no-brainer. Every mentalist needs to know how to do a PATEO force. You get 33 routines here, at 30 cents a routine. That's a bargain.


Positive Increases

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

Positive IncreasesThis always stays in my wallet. This always works. This always astonishes. There are many different ways to do Positive/Negative. This is my favorite, the one I use. Add a couple of rock-paper-scissors and "which hand" routines to it, and you could literally do an entire close-up set with pieces of paper and no prep. Sure, it's great and loads of fun to do Bank Night with clever props, use a brilliant gimmick like Xpert, or buy a slick commercial book test, but this is what mentalism is all about. It's the ability to do absolutely what you claim to do at a moment's notice. It will take a little practice to get the routine down smoothly, but that's also what mentalism is about--using acting skills and being quick on your feet. There's nothing more satisfying than when folks tell me, "I have absolutely no idea how you did that." I've performed this one more than just about anything else, and I always get that reaction. What blows them away is that they think they know how it's done, but when they try to backtrack it, they can't wrap their minds around the combination of two old principles, which if performed well, are disguised. Highest recommendation.


The Kolophon Revisited

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

The Kolophon RevisitedI agree with everything said by the other reviewers. This is apparently an old principle but one that I'd never seen before. It's not entirely 100% foolproof--and there is some audience management involved--but when it works, it will befuddle even trained professionals because of its subtlety.


The Conversus Clipboard

reviewed by Christian Fisanick (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 April, 2016)

The Conversus ClipboardExcellent instructions for constructing a useful utility prop. Once you get the el cheapo supplies (And you don't need an expensive clipboard. Just get the cheapest, most ordinary looking one at Staples.) Like many of the DIY ebooks here on lybrary, the idea isn't new at all (think Tarbell), but the application to a clipboard is. This will work especially well for Bank Night or a Q&A routine. Recommended.

Displaying 912 to 936 (of 1636 reviews)
< ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 ... >