Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 47

Read What Others Are Saying: page 47

1101 ★★★★★ reviews
109 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
54 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1157 to 1181 (of 1406 reviews)


Digit

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 07 May, 2012)

DigitInteresting concept. Still looking for the proper place in a routine to use this. I may be wrong but repeating this as in rock sissors type of routine would be easy to figure out. I think it is overpriced for what it is and better value can be found in other publications.


Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the Stage

reviewed by Greg
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 May, 2012)

Psychic Phenomena: Interactive Tarot Readings from the StageI'm sorry, but this e-book is rubbish. At ten pages, it is ten pages too long, as its only advice on how to give an interactive tarot reading from the stage is "Call the name of the card out in a loud commanding voice and hold it up high. Then deliver a short, punchy, up-beat reading for the audience member based on that card." It never gets any more specific than that. The rest of the 'manuscript' is about how this kind of gig is better than lugging records around as a DJ or how important it is to hold your female volunteer's hand and be polite. The audacity!


The Real Work of Cold Reading

reviewed by Craig Browning
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 29 April, 2012)

The Real Work of Cold ReadingThis treatise should be required study for anyone getting involved with Mentalism but most especially those that plan on doing a Q&A styled act and/or One-on-One Readings. Bob cuts through the B.S., rips apart the theories and gives the student one of the most fair and least biased perspectives on this skill that you're likely to find. I recommend this book to ALL of my students as well as the various newbies I find posting questions on the subject on the forums.

When it comes to the Cold Reading skill-set I only recommend a small handful of writers, Richard Webster towering well over the heads of most with John Rigg's taking up 3rd place, which puts Bob in the middle as the #2 guy to trust. There are others (Ron Martin, Larry Baukin, Loren Tindall and Jerome Finley to name a few) but you owe it to yourself to start with Bob and leave the more questionable material that's out there, alone!


Bent On Strange

reviewed by Ron Martin
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 25 April, 2012)

Bent On StrangeWhat a GREAT ROUTINE to have on hand for that perfect moment! You can easily have everything you'll need - a key or two to bend - if your participant(s) don't have one. Just carry them on your keyring.

Bob's routining is perfect! The handling of the key(s) makes the bend invisible. You can show the key as straight, IMMEDIATELY put it in THEIR hand if you wish . . . and the strangeness can occur there! Either before and/or after - the key is bent, it is shown to be a strong one and is demonstrably NOT going to bend using their fingers.

And best of all? NO gimmick to be caught with! The cleanest of clean routines.

I think this is a perfect one-on-one effect when you feel that doing something very strange is called for. Bob also explains how to use this effectively in a group setting, as well.


Air Dream Illusion

reviewed by Nathan Anon
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 April, 2012)

Air Dream IllusionThis ebook is a very poor quality product. The description is very misleading into thinking the buy will be purchasing a "new" method and that this is a "magician fooler". Unfortunately this is nothing special.

The product has been typed very poorly Word and the drawings look like they were done in MS-Paint.

The "dimensions" in the book (that go with the terrible "illustrations") are not enough for a builder to assemble properly.

My main question is, if this is such a great illusion and a magician fooler, where is a photo of the final build to even prove this has been tested?? All there is in here are the concept drawings (in MS-Paint) and I suspect this hasn't ever been audience tested or even built.

Basically another product where a magician is trying to make some $$ by revealing secrets. There is nothing new in this design to make this more deceptive than any other illusion out there. My advice, don't bother with this.


Build Your Own Psychic Calculator

reviewed by Floyd Morrow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 April, 2012)

Build Your Own Psychic CalculatorA few days ago, I gave this book 5 stars because it is a great book on how to modify calculators. After reading all the supplemental information on mental math effects, I have to give it another 5 stars because there is a real gem on page 46. I have been reading mental math and magic books for the past 50 years and I have never seen anything like it. The 3 By 5 Trick is easy to learn and a real reputation builder. Try it - Play with it - you'll like it. This effect, by itself is worth the price of the book. Thank you Shawn Evans.


Dissolving Aces

reviewed by Craig Campbell
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 11 April, 2012)

Dissolving AcesNot impressed at all with this. Pretty much just learned how to do this effect by watching the video one time. Not a very good effect.


Build Your Own Psychic Calculator

reviewed by Floyd Morrow (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 09 April, 2012)

Build Your Own Psychic CalculatorGreat book. Clear instructions with detailed step by step photographs. Calculators are easy to find at Office Max or Amazon. The effects are easy to understand and perform.


Personal Touch

reviewed by Ben Salinas (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 04 April, 2012)

Personal TouchI am a big fan of Docc Hilford's effects and writings because his effects are real-world. These are not pipe dreams or 'neat ideas', they are fully-developed routines that have been refined on paying audiences.

Personal Touch is devastatingly powerful and oh so simple to do. You can use this to reveal your spectator's innermost secrets and gain you some serious credibility. Docc says he uses this to get flight upgrades and VIP service in hotels, and I can definitely see why!

This is, and I don't use the term lightly, a reputation-maker.


Good Turns

reviewed by Howard Port (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 March, 2012)

Good TurnsThis is a good overview of magic's "twisting" craze. Descriptions are good but bare bones, though Jon does describe what I think is an improved version of the Elmsley Count in the context of Vernon's original routine. You should know that a few illustratons are missing from this version, but this did not cause me any trouble. I think it is a good buy at $10.


Eastern Moves: Video Vol. 2

reviewed by Skott Hughes (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 26 March, 2012)

Eastern Moves: Video Vol. 2This is such a great piece of art to own. The effortless phases of this or any routine are what makes this so astonishing. The coins melt transpose and many other unthinkable things as your mind tries to catch up. Even if you do your own routines, there will be plenty here to add, a little something is always better then a little of nothing. Very happy with this as you will be also. Skott Hughes


The Corporate Mentalist

reviewed by Sean Kearney (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 March, 2012)

The Corporate MentalistI recently purchased The Corporate Mentalist and like to push myself with something new every show. This book immediately clicked with me and I used many of the ideas in a recent gig just a few days after reading them for the first time. The routines not only got a strong reaction but I had a great time doing it.

I highly recommend this magnificent, practical approach to a “packs small, plays big” show.


The Sphinx

reviewed by Chet Cox
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 15 March, 2012)

The SphinxThere should be a higher rating than 5 stars, because the rating code at the bottom of this page (the one on which I'm typing; not the one which you're reading) says that 5 stars means merely "good." This set is much, much more than "good." It is, according to your needs:

- an invaluable history of magic,

- the strongest collection of powerful effects from the greatest magicians who lived,

- completely and utterly searchable; you want background on Thurston? You've got it! Want a LOT of versions of any specific favorite of yours? It's instantly findable!

- the backgrounds, the photos of the great masters, the programs, the reviews of books and effects which are again new, and the ability to watch as someone is noted as a newcomer - and eventually becomes a master wizard by our time!

- John Mullholland, the MagiCIAn (Look it up)

When you get these disks, guard them well - let nothing happen to them. Because they are well worth far more than the asking price of $499 - there is information herein which would be otherwise lost to the ages.

HIGHLY recommended.


The Corporate Mentalist

reviewed by Roel beckers (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 12 March, 2012)

The Corporate MentalistDear Scott,

I would like to congratulate you with your ebook "Coporate mentalist". It is without any doubt one of the most valuable ebooks I've ever bought! Your way of thinking is amazing!


Card Shark Issue 5

reviewed by Feras Kharboush
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 02 March, 2012)

Card Shark Issue 5The issue opens with a trick by Alex Hui which to me was the trick I liked the most though I know others won't share my view. from a shuffled deck a named card disappears from the pack only to appear in between the tabled 2 kings which never touched the deck once they're tabled. Its a nice idea but has problematic aspects. I wished for a better vanish of a named card in the pack but I didn't mind the method here because I already use it. The real problem is the final revelation; you'll do 2 moves after revealing the facedown card in the sandwich. The first is fine since the heat will be somewhere else, while the 2nd is done right where the heat is. Some people won't like it, some people might even think the construction is ridiculous. I think its interesting.

The next trick debuts Scottish magician Andrew Hillcoat. Always nice to learn tricks from new names and this one is alright. Its a gimmickless packet trick where the blue backs of the 2 black kings each change color after being sandwiched in between the red backed red kings, the red kings' backs then change to blue as a climax. If you like the plot the method is quite straightforward. You'll table a double two times during the trick. As a packet trick with almost no counts, I think its fine but I cant see myself doing it.

Kyle MacNeill contributes a version of cannibal cards which, quite frankly ( and sorry Kyle ), doesn't make any sense. The jokers are out & 2 selections are returned, spectator names a number between 1-52 and deals that number of cards on the table. The jokers are placed on that packet and vanish, only to come again with a card in between, the 1st selection. The card vanishes, you say their named number is quite special, since the top card of the tabled packet is shown to be the 2nd selection.

So you got a card that appears in a sandwich then disappears, and the 2nd card appearing at their named number as a "climax". I find quite confusing. Also, The method wont be really deceptive if a very low number is named. You'll also be doing an Erndase color change with a packet which, depending on their named number, can be quite difficult to do. I know it is for me.

John Carey's trick is a winner. A routine based on Allan Ackerman's Quick Coincidence. Spectator uses an ace to find another ace, an indifferent card changes to an ace, then the deck is up and down, all cards then face the same way except the final ace. Easily the best and the most practical trick in the magazine, taken from his DVD set 24/7.

Then There's Roy Walton's trick.

Its a self-working trick with only a-4-card-setup. I didn't try it out but I think it can fool a quite a few magicians. I don't know about laymen but if you're familiar with Roy Walton's style of self-working tricks, this is no exception. I think its pretty good, though I don't think many will perform it regularly to lay audiences.

Quite a long review for an ebook that's less than 3$. I'd say buy it.


Holes

reviewed by Paul Nightingale (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 28 February, 2012)

HolesThe effect "on holemeal" is worth the cost of your last dvd purchse. Its easy to get in and out of and very visual! Great effect!


Fade Away

reviewed by James Colonna (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 22 February, 2012)

Fade AwayI'm new to this review business but I thought I'd start making some.

Fade Away is definitely an interesting ebook. First, you can see demos of both routines on Youtube. Just search "Fade away" and "Trio", by Stephen Tucker. If you like what you see from the demos then you won't be disappointed with the book.

Now my thoughts. In my opinion if you want to do Fade Away, you might as well do the trick "The trick that Fooled Houidin" instead. I just think that there will be less heat on the deck if you do it this way. In Fade Away I think that spec's will want to see the cards, and well you can hand the cards out after. But then the lay people will be handling gimmicked cards. But that's my opinion.

Trio: Is a nice three card trick, and if you like what you see in the demo then you won't be dissapointed.

My one negative is that in Fade Away and Trio, you're not really left "clean" in my opinion. So if like examinable tricks, then I wouldn't recommend it. But if you don't mind ending dirty then I recommend it.

Thanks, James Colonna


Maxi Twisto ReTwisted

reviewed by Aaro Sorva (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 10 February, 2012)

Maxi Twisto ReTwistedFirst, sorry my bad english. I've to say, this is really good packet trick. Only five cards used and this is really stunning. Also this is really easy to learn, so I highly recommend this to everyone. Resets easily when casually showing the cards and when you put the packet away. Aaro Sorva


Mind Blasters USA

reviewed by Stephen Jones
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 February, 2012)

Mind Blasters USAAs a Welshman resident in Dubai, who has a minor contribution included as an addendum to one of the routines, I may have a somewhat unusual perspective as a reviewer. At 358 pages and with 33 contributors and numerous photographs this has to be worth your consideration.

The material covers a wide spectrum of presentations, effects, and props. There is a lot of crediting—in many cases to little known sources—and some may find it frustrating to track these down, but at least you will know what you are trying to find. Inevitably a number of the effects are offshoots or variations of earlier work by other authors, and in some cases the full working details are therefore not revealed. In most cases, if you are interested in such materials you will already have the necessary knowledge.

Although after a quick read I was able to identify several effects I know I will use, what impressed me much more was how much practical experience and know-how was being shared. One advantage of ebooks is there are no printing costs, so editors do not have to prune quite so hard. This allows a more discursive approach with more emphasis on presentational details, or patter and how effects originated or pointers to other direction to follow. Mentalists tend to be more patter and procedure-heavy because they are generally telling a story rather than demonstrating an effect, but that does not mean the presentations are dull or dry — there is plenty of humour here.

Some write ups may seem over long, others may seem unfinished. Professionals know there is only one best way to do the effect, and through numerous performances, have polished off all the rough edges and doubts. Creators and inventors may perform less and be reluctant to stop the creative process and spin off endless possible variations. This book includes examples of both, and overall is the better for it. There is just so much useful background information that you may use for many different effects than those presented. You will find creative uses of objects like bottles and caps, predictions, mind reading, spectator control, a magic cross instead of a magic square, how to create ghostly voices, spirit messages, tricks with droodles, psychometry, astrology, mobile phones, recorders, haunted blocks, sugar packets, Zener cards, Multi-sensory, psychokinesis, coin bending, divination, cold reading, bank nite, balloons, book tests, matches, money and even a smattering of card tricks. So many useful patter lines and tips on audience management; so many different ways of creating emotional hooks that even in the unlikely event you find no tricks of interest you will still value the concepts, ideas, advice and information.

For me, on an initial skim through, Chuck Hickok’s two short pieces were enough reason to know this book was worth buying and I was not even halfway through.


Word Sight

reviewed by Robert M.
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 09 February, 2012)

Word SightThis book test is so good that I floored 350 people at a business convention. The secret is just purely super-simple and the effect on an audience is priceless. Highly recommended!


#AD001 Horses at Sunup

reviewed by Merlue Davies
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 03 February, 2012)

#AD001 Horses at SunupI have a number of photographs of "Pete" Dailey as I recall his name at Eaton's Guest Ranch, Wolf Wyoming. I am formerly John Irwin's wife, and my father-in-law and mother-in-law were Leon and Lummie Irwin of New Orleans. There are so many fond memories of being at Eaton's Ranch and risdimg with "Pete" and others as well as the many evening get togethers. He was such a wonderful, kind, humorous man. I feel so fortunate to have a number of his one-of-kind works...in my possession since the 60s. They are priceless in my estimation, and bring back nothing but happy memories. I do have Horses at Sunup, Dust and Shadows, Kicking Up The Dust, etc. I have Horses At Sunup, where it won a gold medal at the Boston Art Museum, 1968.


Full: Three self-working full deck effects

reviewed by Marc Rehula (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 February, 2012)

Full: Three self-working full deck effectsThis is a great ebook, actually providing what its subtitle says. There are three 'self-working' effects that allow you to work on presentation, rather than fancy moves. I immediately loved Over the Top, which, while it won't wow your magician friends, WILL entertain your audiences. The other two effects are good as well, which are also easy but allow you plenty of room to assert your own persona. One of my favorite e-purchases from Lybrary.


Losing Control

reviewed by Caroline Lisbano
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 February, 2012)

Losing Controlsuperb magic videos


Howard Thurston's Card Tricks

reviewed by Wilhelm Eberhard (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 23 January, 2012)

Howard Thurston's Card TricksThis is probably one of first books describing stage card manipulations, specially productions from the back palm.

Later books, such as Buckley's Card Control, tend to assume that the reader had studied Thurston's book and knew the basic methods explained therein.

Although you can find these methods (practically the same as described by Thurston) in lesson 35 of the Tarbell Course on Magic, explained in a more clear and detailed manner, if you are interested in stage manipulations, this book is a must.

You will also find an interesting section about the Si Stebbins stack, which the author calls "The "Thurston" System of Expert Card Manipulation".


The Psychology of Magic

reviewed by Peter Prevos (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 January, 2012)

The Psychology of MagicEvery magician should listen to this tape. Bill Nagler provides an excellent explanation HOW to ensure that audiences do not see you as a simple trickster, but as an entertainer.

Displaying 1157 to 1181 (of 1406 reviews)
< ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 ... >