Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 43

Read What Others Are Saying: page 43

1099 ★★★★★ reviews
111 ★★★★ reviews
68 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1059 to 1083 (of 1408 reviews)


Losing Control

reviewed by Larry Brodahl (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 10 October, 2013)

Losing ControlThis is NOT the be-all, end-all of controls, but it is a pretty clever little idea. It plays quite well (ie: I've never been caught), and doesn't take years to master.

On the other hand, it's not a control that I would repeat over and over. I use it sparingly, and usually only after I've done a few other items.

Strangely enough, I seem to perform it for the local magicians more than laymen, simply because it does often fly past them, which makes me smile.

Like I said, it's not the last word in controls, but it is a nice little tool to have floating around for when you need it.


On Thin Air: Levitation

reviewed by Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 27 September, 2013)

On Thin Air: LevitationA marvelous levitation that really looks good in photos and probably looks just as good in real life. It undoubtedly would work, and there are a number of different handlings which are possible.

The biggest problem is that you'll need to own a machine shop or have a friend who does! Although you could pay a machinist or carpenter to do much of the work, the fact remains that this gimmick should only be built by someone with the skill for careful work and safety. The description on the buyer's pages should have stated such, even if it would scare many buyers away.

The instructions and presentation(s) are explained well. A trained person would have no difficulty in making this. Mr Noble does have some spelling and terminology problems, but nothing which will slow you down.

If you have the skill and follow safety procedures, this might just be the best self-levitation on the market. You literally can perform this close up to your audience. Angles are minor - but there are some. Rehearsal is imperative; this is not something for the idly curious. This is performance magic at its best.

With the description modified in the blurb, to let one know this requires certain skills and equipment, and with a good proofreading and editing, I'd have no hesitation in giving this a full five points. As it is, it loses only one point for its flaws - because the actual method is very, very good.


Eight Plus One

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 September, 2013)

Eight Plus OneOne more great e-book full of excellent tricks from Paul's professional close-up repertoire. My favourites are: Name Any Card; Impromptu Book Test; Four Card Coincidence; Telepathic Spectator and Signed 2 Card Transpo.


My Q and A

reviewed by Jerome Finley
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 17 September, 2013)

My Q and AAs a long-time fan and avid supporter of ALL of Scott Creasey's work, I was quite excited to check this one out (and thanks to Ray's recommendation above, I also picked up "Number 5" and will comment more on both these releases when I have a little more time).

There's a lot to love about "My Q&A" and though our individual styles, criteria and personal approaches to Q&A are diametrically opposed in many ways, I'm a huge fan of the genre and do my best to consume just about everything released on the subject. To say that I was incredibly impressed with Scott's Q&A method, approach, structure and all the thinking behind and going into it would be a huge understatement. I highly recommend this ebook and for the menial asking price it really can't be beat. Speaking for myself only, I would have been happy paying 10X more for this phenomenal piece of work.

Not only is the structure, timing, framing, presentation, choreography, methodology, the expert use of subtlety, attention to detail, professional nuances and core effect exemplary in this case, it opens wide the doors to innumerable performance options, can be custom tailored for the performer, environment and attending audience - the foundational techniques are, by nature, highly applicable to other mind reading acts and hard-hitting routines of the same high class and caliber.

I'm actually very surprised there's not a WHOLE LOT more talk about the piece in question.

To touch very briefly on just a few specifics, I love that the "gimmick" in this case is not really a gimmick at all (using every day, EASILY AVAILABLE items in sneaky, subtle and spectacular ways)...also that it uses full size 3X5 sized index cards as opposed to smaller half-slips or unruly palm-sized billets, that the dirty work is done right out in the open and the reading process occurs in full sight of your viewing audience members and participants. While the mechanics are all perfectly hidden, there really isn't anything to "hide."

Scott developed the routine over several years and countless performances as an actual worker, which I respect above all else, and after reading the method and material a few times with the necessary items in and and giving it a formal test-run at my last home party, the results and reactions were far more than I myself was expecting or could have prepared for. While this will in no way, shape or form replace my own Q&A and preferred methods, if you're at all interested in this sort of act and demonstration as a whole, Scott Creasey's "My Q&A" is a definite no-brainer.

Complete with an interactive beginning, ultra-strong middle and memorable, powerful ending I don't feel ANY mentalist worker or psychic entertainer in this day and age would be anything less than ecstatic over their purchase - there's a whole lot of value here, the routine is complete, simple in execution, devastating in effect and would be a startling success in even the most inept hands. I highly, highly recommend this one and that you check it out immediately! Most of the items required I already had and a quick trip to the local office supply took care of that in less than 5 minutes.

To end, I'm a big fan of Scott as a person and his professional offerings as a gifted creator and performer (before these last two purchases I've owned multiple sets of his FIP and BIP BT, both items which I've kept close when needed and used for years now) and again, to piggy back on Jorgenson's spot on review, I'm stoked that Mr. Creasey continues to share his world class thinking, powerhouse routines and professional WORKING GRADE material with the mentalism community.

Now...I'm off to grab up the rest of his stuff and the few things of his I've obviously been missing.


KardKoating: playing card coating

reviewed by David Williams
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 12 September, 2013)

KardKoating: playing card coatingSounds great. Thank you. I use Silicon spray, from Bunnings and Spotlight. But I'm keen to try this spray, now.


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 05 September, 2013)

A Fix on Six!All the tricks in this e-book are very good. All of them are impromptu and all the effects are very strong. They are real workers. My favourites are: Inspector #1953, The Trick That Can't Be Explained (which trick has nothing to do with the Vernon trick which has similar title), CAAN TU and Triple Revelation.


Eni-Where

reviewed by Scott Watson (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 September, 2013)

Eni-WhereI think this is a fantastic technique from Radek, quick to learn and high impact. Despite the criticism of some elsewhere, I think he has made a fantastic effort to properly credit and direct readers to the sources of his information and inspiration for Eni-Where and in my opinion is a huge credit to this first time author.

My only feedback on this, is that for the sake of completeness and ease of those perhaps not familiar with the specific palm used in the technique, there could have been a more detailed explanation of the getting ins and outs of it as well as some of the subtleties involved in using it.

Definitely worth the purchase however.


In Bocca Al Lupo

reviewed by Simone Scaravella (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 August, 2013)

In Bocca Al LupoIl Libro รจ buono, ma la veste tipografica NO ! vi sono diversi errori : lettere scambiate con numeri e fonts microscopiche


The Making of Playing Cards

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 15 August, 2013)

The Making of Playing CardsAn exquisite little book in every respect! I love books that take a very narrow subject area, and dive deeply into exploring that topic........books that are "fetishistic", so-to-speak. If that's your thing, you'll love this one! Great price and a quick read.


10 Myths About Magic Exposed

reviewed by Alan Meyers (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 31 July, 2013)

10 Myths About Magic ExposedThis is great! Every beginning magician should read this, and experienced magicians may find it a refreshing statement of truths we know but don't always talk about. I especially like the parts about the lie that everybody loves magic, and the lie that "practice makes perfect." A small price to pay for a large helping of truth.


Between Two Minds

reviewed by Phil Refa
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 July, 2013)

Between Two MindsI wanted to add to my last review as well as raise this to a 5 star from a 4 star. The more I read this little book there are some real gems between the covers. As I mentioned in my last review the edge marking system is worth the price alone. There are several two person codes that are just damn clever. I just finished reading a small section on thumb writing and the new method of thumb writing - I don' t know how I missed it - again presentation needs to be reworked but a very clever idea - it allows you to thumb write right out in the open with them look right at the card. I have not tried it but I will. All in all there is some buried treasure that is just begging to be reworked.


The $1000 Dollar A Day Show Plan

reviewed by Terry Smith
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 22 July, 2013)

The $1000 Dollar A Day Show PlanI just got this ebook about a week ago. Because of the month, the venue isn't reachable at this time. But, when it is, I really see this working. It's a very good system. It could make you a great deal of money in a very short time.

Thanks,

Terry G. Smith Mentalist


The $1000 Dollar A Day Show Plan

reviewed by Derek Renfro (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 18 July, 2013)

The $1000 Dollar A Day Show PlanThis book will be of greater value to the magician than mentalist. Devin states that you need a 70-90 minute show that appeals to all ages. I have yet to see even the best mentalism program which meets those requirements. Mentalism is an adult form of entertainment and most children under 12 will just not get it. And 90 minutes of mentalism is just hard to watch. Then there are the kooks who will boycott a mentalism show rather than support it.

Also this book is more for established performers who have "a lot of great references." So, if you are just starting out and think this book will help you break into the market, look elsewhere, as this is definitely for the more experienced performer. Also you will need some cash to invest in the show before you even step on stage-a few hundred dollars actually.

The book has sound advice and a workable- and most likely profitable-plan, but again, more experienced performers with (some handy cash) will find it of greatest value.


Ireland's Original Cup and Ball Routines

reviewed by Eric Fry (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 16 July, 2013)

Ireland's Original Cup and Ball RoutinesAmong other topics, this booklet gives very good descriptions and illustrations for C&B moves with sponge balls. The information is very detailed and precise.


The Amateur Magician's Handbook

reviewed by Cristian Vidrascu
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 12 July, 2013)

The Amateur Magician's HandbookOne of the best books on magic, the only issue I have is with the title: the target audience is not limited to amateurs. If I were dictator of the universe, I would make it required reading for any type of entertainer, especially magicians and mentalists.

Covered within are sleight of hand magic versus "head magic" (where ingenious methods not involving sleight of hand are used). There is emphasis on cards, coins, the usual, but what differentiates this from other books on magic is how clearly the psychology of magic is explained. You could tell the author was very sharp, his thought process was very thorough, and his writing style was extremely clear and to the point.


Gems of Mental Magic

reviewed by e c
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 11 July, 2013)

Gems of Mental MagicThe majority of effects in this book are for 2 people working together. The rest use gimmicks/apparatus that are very outdated. I would not recommend it at all, even for it's cheap price.


Blindsight: the original

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 09 July, 2013)

Blindsight: the originalThis is an improved version of Poker Tells. I love the handling and all the details that Mr Knight provides. If own Poker Tells I would still recommend this especialy for the price. This is a greatly improved handling and very well thought out.


Catch 33: Three Card Monte

reviewed by David Bilan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 July, 2013)

Catch 33: Three Card MonteLee Asher with three cards. One black card and two red. Pick the black card and you win. A classic con. How much effort could it take to teach a routine? If you want a great routine, it takes input from twenty of the most talented people in magic. Add 48 high quality close-up photos and and mix to create a straight-forward, well written routine that ends with a kick.

I enjoy learning from books/printed media, but watching the moves in action make learning the routine much simpler. Lee gives me the best of both worlds, providing a link to video showing the routine from start to finish.

Do you get the idea that I really like this routine? Like the TV commercials say, "But wait... there's more!"

Throughout the document, Lee credits the various moves, tosses in some great quotes (not necessary to learn the magic, but great reading) and ends with a link to a Bibliography giving you more than 150 years worth of writing about 3-Card Monte.

Is it good for a newbie? It can be. This is a classic lesson in misdirection, audience management and putting together the moves with a script. The moves aren't knuckle-busters, but they will take practice. If you are willing to invest the time, Lee Asher offers a classic with a new twist that will leave people will an impossible ending.


Catch 33: Three Card Monte

reviewed by Roger Isberg
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 04 July, 2013)

Catch 33: Three Card MonteFor anyone who is serious about 3 card monte. Fresh ending. Lots of reference material. You can also go to video clip and a big bibliography. Everything with quality takes time so take some time and study Catch 33 carefully.

Roger Isberg


Dai Vernon: L'Uomo Che Inganno' Houdini

reviewed by Simone Scaravella (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 25 June, 2013)

Dai Vernon: L'Uomo Che Inganno' HoudiniOttimo libro sulla biografia di Dai Vernon,assolutamente da comprare !!!!!


Rank Your Act on Google's First Page in 24 Hours

reviewed by Joe Libby (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 21 June, 2013)

Rank Your Act on Google's First Page in 24 HoursThis is excellent and easy to understand for anyone serious about learning about Google's SEO. The section on utilizing YouTube to get on page one of search results is worth more than the price of the book. Highly recommended! And while I still need to do some fine tuning, you can put these terms into Google as proof of the video SEO and other SEO techniques in action:

San Antonio Comedy Magician San Antonio Party Ventriloquist San Antonio Family Entertainer


The Memorized and not so Memorized Decks

reviewed by Tor Ravengael (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 05 June, 2013)

The Memorized and not so Memorized DecksIn my view, these stacks are most useful for memorized deck routines in which the magician/mentalist is able to read off an apparently random stack of cards in sequence. In my opinion, it would be useful to know that they are not something one would want to use as a stack in which, for example, a card is chosen from the middle of the stack and the magician/mentalist would then be able to name it, as a result of the properties inherent in the stack. I think that may prove to be difficult. Also, although little actual strict "memorization" is involved, one does need to keep track of patterns/and or math, which may or may not be easy depending performers skill at doing that sort of thing under performing conditions. In my opinion, although these stacks are very useful for their particular purpose, the price is a bit steep - considering one can find less expensive, equally deceptive, and easy to use stacks that have a wider range of applications. Interesting and useful, by in my view, just not $28.00 worth of interesting and useful.


Get Gigs Right Now

reviewed by Terry Smith
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 03 June, 2013)

Get Gigs Right NowSorry, But what a load of crap for the money. The first 6 pages are fluff. The next couple deal with booking a show. After that, well, it's nothing that the very average preformer already knows.

If I could, I'd ask to get my money back for this product.

Terry G. Smith Mentalist


First Impression(s)

reviewed by Etienne Lorenceau (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 30 May, 2013)

First Impression(s)The idea of the author is fundamentally brilliant and it works. Patrons will show the card to several people and may even try and use it for a while for their own profit. Now it seems to me that the author is pushing his great idea in the wishful thinking zone when he suggests not to mention the Tel number to lead the prospects into getting into the performer's website. This shows, in my opinion, that he doesn't fully knows how people rich enough to hire a magician, operate in their daily life. A wealthy patron receives many cards almost daily and gives it to his assistant to enter in his computer. If the phone number is not on there, he will not spend the time to look for it in the website. He'll ask his assistant to look for the number but will resent having had to do this. Driving the patron to look into the website is a good idea in itself but it should be done differently and during the time that the prospect is still under the charm of "first impression" (and that will not last for ever: at best a couple of days). Therefore I would suggest that the tel number should be on the card but that some of the questions raised by the card get their "detailed personal answers' on to the website. If the prospect has to enter his email to access the website, then it's simple to have the website automatically directing him to some right brain left brain cold reading pages -and have a random selection of several pages for each brain side so that if he shows the site to a friend after showing him the business card, they don't get the same description (keeping a tag however for the same person always getting the same comment). Detailed cold reading description can be copied from books on the subject. Now this positive criticism shouldn't deter smart magicians from purchasing the book as the fundamental idea remains totally proper and valid. It can be just used as such or open many cold reading possibilities like Kenton Knepper's "Completely Cold" which, by the way could easily be programmed on a web site instead of pre-entering cold reading pages. Now the First Impression commercial aim could be completed by including a justified exchange of business card and asking the patron's birthday (or wedding day) to be written on his card. Then the magician gets an info where HE can call the patron a few week in advance from his birthday, referring to his own First Impression business card, and suggest a gig

A fantastic commercial and magical idea that should be pushed further either by the author or by the reader.

A book definitely worth purchasing


Brain Busters

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 22 May, 2013)

Brain BustersI have always been a fan of UF Grant. This little manuscript is a steal for the price. There are some good ideas looking to be updated and fine tuned. All four routines are good but my favorites are the watch routine and the bill divination.

Displaying 1059 to 1083 (of 1408 reviews)
< ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 ... >