Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 49

Read What Others Are Saying: page 49

1251 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1212 to 1236 (of 1636 reviews)


The Holy Dixie Cup

reviewed by David Devlin
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 July, 2014)

The Holy Dixie CupHi folks...Just to clarify...there is no "false deal". There is a switch that is similar to a "bottom deal"; however the sleight would never be used as a false deal as in a gambling routine, and especially in "fast company". Again, it is a very slick switch. Sorry for the misconception.


The Holy Dixie Cup

reviewed by Xavier Serra (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 02 July, 2014)

The Holy Dixie CupI am sorry to say that, opposite to the claim in the product description, there is a huge false deal. I think it is important for any potential buyer to know in order not to be mislead.


Theta Waves

reviewed by Ronald Wood
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 20 June, 2014)

Theta WavesAfter reading the preview of this ebook earlier today, I looked up “8 Card Brainwave” as I couldn’t remember the handling! On revising the Nick Trost effect, I spent most of the day trying to work out how David Devlin could give the cards away as souvenirs at the finish! I could not work THAT part out! Tonight I bought Theta Waves. It was only on buying it that I noticed it came with two presentations. After reading the introduction, the basic effect and then the method, I stopped reading! I didn’t get to the presentations! I was too busy getting 7 blue and 1 red card to practise! This is a very workable routine that WILL be going into my act. I finally read the presentations David also gives. Both are brilliant entertaining routines. This is one of those effects that will have you smiling to yourself when you perform it.


Heads, I Win. Tails, You Lose!

reviewed by Didier Dupré (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 08 June, 2014)

Heads, I Win. Tails, You Lose!hello,

Simple and easy ... I find the style I like.

Nb: the cover is beautiful

Nice day.

7i7ier


Trapped

reviewed by Didier Dupré (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 08 June, 2014)

TrappedHello, Shame ... I like your ideas ... and ... I have a feeling of deja view. Good day

7i7ier


Count Down

reviewed by Jack McCoy
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 03 June, 2014)

Count Down'Count Down' is a great trick and well worth the small price. The routine is simplicity in itself, you'll never forget it and the method for the most part is self working. The deck can be borrowed, providing it's a full deck.


Triple Impact

reviewed by Patricia Mcshannon
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 01 June, 2014)

Triple Impactit was an honour to be included in the acknowledgements in this book.. paul is one of the most amazing guys ive ever met and has a talent no words can describe! thankyou paul! a true gentleman and amazing magician!


Subliminal 3

reviewed by Paul Hallas (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 May, 2014)

Subliminal 3A few well written, easy to follow and easy to do routines. You're not going to learn any new methods. You are going to get some simple card effects but the important point is that each has a solid presentation that will work for you. One of the routines is most suited to a particular David Blaine deck, because the jokers therein contain an optical illusion, but there are plenty of sources for optical illusions on the web and in print and one could easily photocopy and laminate one of these to introduce the effect.

The title pretty much sums up the presentational theme of the effects. If you're willing to invest the $6 asking price I doubt you'll be disappointed, I wasn't.


Jinx

reviewed by Howard Port (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 29 May, 2014)

JinxFor $15, this is a true bargain. Many of the excellent items here are so old that they are new; that is, little seen yet effective tricks. It is also interesting to see the origins of many of today's "latest" ideas.


Jinx

reviewed by Grandpa Chet Cox (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 24 May, 2014)

JinxOh my goodness! You haven't bought this yet? Annemann practically invented the principles of mentalism and collected the most powerful and SIMPLE card magic. All in a magazine/newsletter that didn't last nearly long enough.

At least three books (two on card magic; one on mentalism) were drawn from the material herein. Yet you may just find Annemann's editorials the most valuable material - I certainly have. And you'll be drawing from this stock for years yet.

It's this simple: You want to be a mentalist? Buy and study the Jinx. You want to have a zillion card effects at hand that won't break your hands but will stupefy your audiences? For fifteen bucks, you have the strongest effects yet - and the principles upon which almost all mentalism has been built.


POW!

reviewed by Steven Beckley (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 18 May, 2014)

POW!Way overpriced for what you get. I hate when people overcharge for stuff like this promoting it as "insider" cold reading material. This book should have been in the 6 or seven dollar range. Just save your money for some of the better cold reading material listed on lybrary.com and look up some positive quotes for free online. There isn't any practical advice offered in this manuscript that has to do with readings.


Cards and Strangers

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 15 May, 2014)

Cards and StrangersThese effects are terrific for the casual, strolling performer, table-hopping or just doing a few tricks a a party! The tricks are very clever, the premises are varied and the patter is great! As I mentioned before, the aspect of performing all of these effects 'in the hands' makes this e-book priceless!


Easy Lift: no get ready double lift

reviewed by Vidar Fors (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 14 May, 2014)

Easy Lift: no get ready double liftThis is a fantastic double turnover. It looks natural and with a bit of practice you're going to get it down every time, with very little risk of missing. The teaching video is not even 2 minutes long, but he teaches everything you need. This is probably not so good for absolute beginners but everyone else should have this. Even if you already have a double lift you are comfortable with, this is a great one to know. And it's only $3.00! What a great price. Buy now!


Jinx

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 May, 2014)

Jinx$15 - What a bargain. I have this download on my IPAD and read it while relaxing at Starbucks or odd moments through out the day. There is so much material and tid bits buried between the covers. Even if you do not like the effect there are little nuggets that can be used elsewhere. I am a firm believer in what is old is new - there is so many items here that are begging to be re-worked. So roll-up your sleeves and dive in. I would also highly recommend "Swami Mantra" also available as a download.


Scripting and Storytelling for Paranormal Entertainers

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 13 May, 2014)

Scripting and Storytelling for Paranormal EntertainersIf you are interested in learning how to script your magic look no further. This an excellent resource - covers every aspect from creating a story line,researching and developing a themed show. I would also recommend "Dark Waltz" or the " The Complete Oracle" to round out your education. But this would be the first step - Highly recommended.


The Kolophon Revisited

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 10 May, 2014)

The Kolophon RevisitedJust finished reading the manuscript - I can't wait to try this out. There is a possibility of a miss, but in the words of Peter Turner "Dare to be BOLD - for that is when miracles happen". You should have a sure fire effect in the wings in case this does not work. Devin and Bob do a great job of explaining the simple principle as well as increasing the odd's of success. Very well laid out as is all of Devins manuscripts. Highly recommended


Magigram Volume 1 (Sep 1966 - Aug 1968)

reviewed by Vidar Fors (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 08 May, 2014)

Magigram Volume 1 (Sep 1966 - Aug 1968)This was fun reading! It is from 1966 and it is packed with old stuff, and you can even learn a few effects. And it's only 3 dollars.


Hammer Smashed Aces

reviewed by Mark
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 03 May, 2014)

Hammer Smashed AcesSo I received this 16 page PDF file and read through it twice, once with cards in hand. This is my type of effect. Well written, logical and packs a punch. The effect itself is not difficult and the moves and sleights as performed by the creator are all described. Overall, this effect works and plays as described without embellishment of magi advertisement fluff. Some may elect to substitute some moves with their own , their preferred handling in some places. Not that it is needed , all is well written and described as performed. It just is a personal preference, at least for me. The effect does play out as described. The four cards can and should be signed, which immediately rules out duplicates or gaffs. Another plus is the routine has audience participation. There is a lot of magic throughout from the cards shuffled into the deck, a triumph type sequence, a transpo of a sandwiched card and the climax of having signed cards revealed in different locations. The deck can be borrowed. I like this effect.This is intermediate but not difficult.I think a video demo would be fantastic and assist with overall interest in his effect. Until that happens--- or not, I highly suggest you read through the effect once again, believe the truthful advertisement and then head over to Lybrary.com and purchase this. If this type of effect piques your interest, you will not be disappointed. Recommended. David Devlin does credit his inspiration for this effect.


The Complete Oracle

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 25 April, 2014)

The Complete OracleWow! To say more would be redundant. This is a treasure chest of material. There is so much here that it will take a year to digest- I keep a note book next to me as I read - there is just so much good material and tid bits. Just to wet you appetite - there is a chair routine that is worth the whole price of the down load and that is just one item. The material is of high quality. Even if you do not like the item the presentations will get your grey matter energized and is an object lesson in story telling. This publication would defiantly fall into the "Desert Island Book" category. If you are not familiar - it means if you were stranded on a desert island and were allowed only one book - what would it be- this would be high on the list. Well worth the price many times over. This is a huge download. Highly recommended!


Koran's Medallion Reminted

reviewed by Toby Vacher (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 17 April, 2014)

Koran's Medallion RemintedUnfortunately doesn't actually teach an effect or the key methods to achieve it, and just assumed you're already aware of them. If i was, I'm sure this would be a useful booklet, but for me it was unfortunately a waste of cash.


The Kolophon Revisited

reviewed by Matt Adams
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 15 April, 2014)

The Kolophon RevisitedVery clever effect. Devin does a good job with his additions and thoughts on the principle. Well worth the price in my opinion. I'll be using this effect in my stage show this week.


Lives of the Conjurers: Volume 1

reviewed by Eric Fry (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 14 April, 2014)

Lives of the Conjurers: Volume 1Very well-written and entertaining. Short pieces about many old-time magicians and related characters.


Lager Switch

reviewed by David Devlin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 12 April, 2014)

Lager SwitchThis is absolutely incredible. It is beautiful in its simplicity. It will take a bit of practice, but it will be very worth it. This is especially good for mentalists. Personally, I think this should be sold for more than the current price tag.


Card Sight: Give Two People Psychic Power

reviewed by James Marshall
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 07 April, 2014)

Card Sight: Give Two People Psychic PowerI'm a huge OOTW fan, but I don't like this. I saw Devin perform this & he flashed several times & didn't fool anyone I was with. Even without flashing, I think the envelopes make this handling of the effect clumsy. There are so many other variations of this that you can do WITHOUT the envelopes that would help this streamline this routine without taking away any of it's power or impact on the audience. Using the envelopes was clever, but "clever" doesn't always mean better. Sometimes when magicians come out with a variation, they get too caught up in the cleverness & miss the fact that the routine isn't being improved... and the overall effect in the eyes of the audience is diminished. Just my 2 cents...


Balloon Shows

reviewed by Mike Salvino
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 23 March, 2014)

Balloon ShowsI just finished reading the balloon show book, I have to say I was very disappointed. The description said that "After reading this book, you'll have a complete act using just balloons, a pump and a basket." What you will have is a short and unorganized show. What I expected from the book was a seasoned performer showing some detailed routines instead of basic general things that can be done with balloons. I watched some videos of Mr. McMahan before I bought his book and I can say he is a better performer than he is an author. Save your ten dollars and buy a bag of balloons.

Displaying 1212 to 1236 (of 1636 reviews)
< ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 ... >