Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 44

Read What Others Are Saying: page 44

1241 ★★★★★ reviews
136 ★★★★ reviews
95 ★★★★★ reviews
62 ★★★★★ reviews
92 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1077 to 1101 (of 1626 reviews)


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Jim Canaday
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 06 July, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaIt is always interesting when an artist who is known as a “Cardician” puts out a new publication with no card tricks. (“Arcade Dream!” by Ed Marlo comes to mind). Paul Lelekis’ new tome, “Close-Up Utopia” from Lybrary.com features seven effects, none involving cards. The publication is of the usual Lelekis quality and has some fun stuff for the average magician (no knuckle busters!) I particularly liked his Impromptu Mental Epic done with business cards. Not only is it impromptu, but a way to give out your card as a souvenir. He credits Andrew Mayne with the idea for Phantom Bill but there is also a similar routine called “The Tokyo Penetration” by Ryu Susato in Kaufman’s “Japan Ingenious”. I am impressed that Paul takes the time to credit extensively. This is 10 bucks well spent.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Jozsef Kovacs
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 July, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaA fantastic ebook again by Paul! You get 7 great tricks using everyday objects. If you want to make your repertoire more colourful, you and your spectators are bored of card tricks and want to find some workers then please get this ebook. The ebook also contains an essay about spectator management and how and when to execute sleights which worth the price of the book.


At the Table

reviewed by Paul Lelekis
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 02 July, 2015)

At the TableJon Racherbaumer is a "magician's magician" and his magic is not only entertaining, but in Jon's hands it is inexplicable! I have been a huge fan of his for many, many years and I think that Jon's influence on my approach to magic has made me a better entertainer! Read what he has offered in this remarkable e-book - you won't be sorry!!


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Douglas Lippert
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 01 July, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaAnother treasure trove of magical information from the fertile mind of Paul Lelekis. Paul's drops the real work on audience control and executing sleights for maximum deception and entertainment in his introduction. This is a masterclass in magic. Worth the price of the e-book alone.

Paul has carved a name for himself with his card work but here Paul is dipping in the well and tipping his non-card work which is just as exemplary!

Paul raise your prices! This stuff is too good.

IMPROMPTU MENTAL EPIC - Is a great way to do Mental Epic anytime, anywhere! I really liked that this version of Mental Epic is totally gimmick free with a clean, smooth, handling. This is going into my repertoire as a mentalism closer.

TORN & RESTORED STRAW WRAPPER - This is a classic of magic. I really enjoyed Paul's take on Skinner's take on Leipzig’s Torn & Restored cigarette paper. Paul has simplified the handling but retained all of the magic. This is just plain good magic. I love all the one liners that Paul provides for the patter. The #1 patter line is hilarious!

THE PHANTOM BILL - This is one of my favorite pieces of magic in this e-book. This is an epic version of the bill through bill. It's totally impromptu with borrowed bills. Paul's version utilizes little cover. The melt through looks like real magic!

PRESTO CHANGO AGAINO - Another gem of a routine from Paul. Finally gives us coin magicians a reason to dig out the old C/S coin. Paul goes for the spectator's jugular by providing 4 moments of high impact magic with a clean reset for table hoppers. I love this routine.

RESEALED CELLOPHANE - This is a clever routine that I can perform at parties "off the cuff" with a pack of cigarettes. Very simple setup and clean handling. Paul tips his clever presentation that justifies using cigarettes. A very visual routine for adults. Paul, give us an e-cigarette version!

CUT & RESTORED STRING- This is a cool opener for any type of ring and string effects. Simple to do but still magical. The best part is you end clean!

Hot Rod - Paul tips the real work on performing the paddle move that one only gains through years of performing this type of effect for real people. Paul tips a clever Melvin Burkhart subtlety. Worth the price of the e-book by itself!


The Magic of Marconick

reviewed by Keith Faler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 June, 2015)

The Magic of MarconickThe picture quality is not good, and it's kinda fuzzy. But hey, it's a rare and good piece of magic demonstration video. It's just his prospective on showing his type of magic, that is seldom seen, in a modern magic show. Maybe you can be inspired, to come up with your own ideas. And put them in your own shows. I highly recommend this video clip.


Manipulation Balls Lecture

reviewed by Keith Faler (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 30 June, 2015)

Manipulation Balls LectureI have had other billiard balls videos before. And the Peki video gives his prospective and techniques, on handling the balls. The video is very good, in my opinion. Also, I believe that some of the information is hard to find, anywhere else. It's definitely a great start, in learning billiard ball manipulation. I highly recommend this video.


A Lifetime in Magic

reviewed by Devin Knight
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 June, 2015)

A Lifetime in MagicThis is a wonderful book on the life of Percy Abbott, it still leaves you wondering if he was a good guy or bad guy. The information that he shares about the famous magicians he knew is enlightening. Where people like Walter Gibson sugar coated the truth, Abbott gives the real low down and dirt on some of the people, including the ongoing disagreement between Howard Thurston and his brother, Harry. It is a shame that he didn't go into his falling out with Blackstone. There is little about the Abbott Magic Company, but he said if he lived, he would write about it. That never happened, still this is a must read for magic history buffs.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Shahzad Nizam (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 29 June, 2015)

Karma DeckI am using Karma deck. The System is extremely Practical. I love the idea.. very easy.. very nice..I am glad that I learned the system.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 28 June, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaClose-Up Utopia: No Cards is Paul Lelekis’s latest book with one essay and seven effects.

These are the main reasons why you should seriously consider this book. Paul IS a working professional. This is a book with NO card tricks. His patter and routining ARE time-tested.

Learn from his wisdom from the trenches of performing experience. Thus, his Introduction, ‘Spectator Management Successful Execution of Sleights’ should be read first, and then again. Paul’s Introductions are a highlight of his many books.

My favourite pieces are ‘Presto Chango Againo’ – a copper & silver transposition with purpose, and use of an overlooked sleight. ‘Impromptu Mental Epic’ got me seriously thinking about performing mentalism close-up again. ‘Phantom Bill’ gives you a ‘linkage’ to ‘Rollover Bills’, with a Misled effect. Interestingly, I gave ‘Hot Rod’ a serious relook with Paul’s preferred ending about ‘permanence’.

Paul, enthusiastically, encourages us go back to our Tools of the Trade, and we have many! I am actually considering using paddles all over again! If you want to get a buzz about magic, read this book, practise, and perform magic – your utopia may be just around you.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Bob Solari
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Close-Up Utopia'Utopia (noun)'. "An imaginary place where all things are perfect." Paul is known all over the world for his amazing routines with cards...but THIS book is a breath of fresh air for those NOT into card magic. After reading Paul's thoughts and routines, it put me in a place where all things ARE perfect! Great job, Paul. I highly recommend this collection of well thought out routines to anyone!


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaPaul's "Close-Up Utopia" is a welcome change for those of us who follow his magic and religiously purchase his ebooks. It's not that I don't love the card related material.. I do.. but magic is not made with cards alone. Sometimes we actually have to get out into the real world and make a buck or two with our table hopping or busking. Close-Up Utopia provides great material for both. The Impromptu Mental Epic can be performed with playing cards..but it can be performed equally well with business cards. This is a great way to get your cards out there. The other effects use common items like a straw wrapper, dollar bills, a cigarette pack, a couple of coins, a string and the mesmerising Hot Rods. Everything can be easily carried in a pocket or garnered at tableside.

Paul's last few ebooks have included a bonus section detailing invaluable advice from a veteran performer. Close-Up Utopia includes a very detailed section on audience control and the professional use of sleights. I REALLY enjoy his thoughts and advice, and delving deep into the what's and why's of performing magic suits Paul to a tee. You certainly won't be left wanting if you purchase CLOSE-UP UTOPIA.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Roy Eidem
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaPaul has done it again. I love cards but variety is indeed the spice of life & magic. His real world advise in spectator management and successful execution of sleights is for the real worker! My two favorites are Leipzig's torn & restore cigarette paper done with drinking straw paper and Melvin Burkhart's double paddle move for color changing knives which I use all the time & elevates the magic. Don't overlook the mental epic routine too. The cost is too cheap for this usable worker material.


Close-Up Utopia

reviewed by Christopher Weber
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Close-Up UtopiaThe new eBook Close-Up Utopia by Paul Lelekis offers seven solid non-card routines that are perfect for close-up and walk around performing situations. As with other publications from Paul, the Introduction alone is a wealth of information and well worth the price of the eBook. Here Paul offers great advice on Spectator Management and the Successful Execution of Slights. This is very well thought out and practical advice on these extremely important and often neglected issues. Paul validates the importance of getting the true “feel and flow” of performing by giving many examples from his own performing experiences as well as other Master Magicians like Michael Ammar, Joe LaMonica and Eddie Fechter. Paul is all about helping to make you become a better performer/entertainer, and through his writing and teaching, he does just that! The seven routines are all written up in Pauls’ clear understandable style that always proves to be a comfortable read. All of the routines are well within the capabilities of the average magician and they are notable for Entertainment Value. Pauls’ well organized, concise teaching style clearly explains slights that really do help you develop the flow that makes for an exceptional, relaxed performance. I particularly enjoyed the copper/silver routine Presto-Chango Againo, the changes really are startling and it’s fun to perform! You’ll love the Impromptu Mental Epic, it’s all about presentation! No tricky moves or large props, just pure entertainment. The tips on the Hot Rod and the slights Paul teaches are all clean and casual. Perfect for Hot Rod, Color Changing Knives or and Paddle Move effect.


Deckology: Mystic Deck

reviewed by Magic Sage (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 27 June, 2015)

Deckology: Mystic DeckAmazing stuff. Amazing routine. And free? C'mon!


Theory of Sequential Decks

reviewed by King Lion (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 26 June, 2015)

Theory of Sequential DecksLot of useful knowledge. A nice bonus routine. All free but very valuable. Thanks.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Venu Vinjamoori (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 12 June, 2015)

Karma DeckThere are several systems exists, some are very popular and some other is not. Only because of individual ability to adapt the theory and implementing it perfectly. So no comparisons needed. The Interesting thing about "Karma Deck System" is, it maintains K.I.S.S (Keep It Simple & Short) principle while understanding the basics, once you master in it, then you can entertain anyone as you are like a Full Time Entertainer in Vegas Club. so Karma deck is just acting as a Catalyst to build your own act and Professional Shows.

Karma Deck breaking the Silos and inspiring many more to apply their brain for more innovations. Thanks to the inventor and to those who inspired him to explore new ways Good luck

Regards Viven (Magic and Mentalism)


Perfect BDay Divination

reviewed by Brian Lewis (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 05 June, 2015)

Perfect BDay DivinationUnfortunately - the method employed won't work outside of the author's home country. That fact should really be stated up front in the description, I'm based in Ireland and this effect simply isn't possible to perform here - so be warned...


Powerhouse Routines

reviewed by Douglas Lippert
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 02 June, 2015)

Powerhouse RoutinesPaul's latest work, "Powerhouse Routines" would give the University of Alabama football team a run for their money. The introduction ALONE is worth the price of admission. Paul shares powerful tidbits about the importance of the spectator thinking they are the one creating the magic. It's not always about the magician! Valuable advice for all performers of the craft.

TELEPATHIC FOUR ACE REVERSE is a great routining and presentation for a clever Marlo idea from 1945. It's been updated with a better handling and great patter that makes this an entertaining piece of magic! This has become one of my favorite card reversal routines.

GRAVITY is a blockbuster sandwich effect with a great James Brown patter line idea. This routine has some finger flicking elements that are a joy to practice. Paul tips a clever idea to fool those in the know! I like this routine.

FIND YOUR OWN CARD is a great take on Marlo's classic, "Strike Three and Out." Paul has managed to improve the routine with a clever feint and add a ESP presentation that knocks it out of the ball park. The effect works itself and allows the magician to focus on the presentation.

THE TOUCH SWITCH is a clever way to switch out a card right in front of a spectator's nose. There are no angles to worry about. Paul's signed card switch is ingenious and a great way to finish an ACR whether it be card to pocket, card to box, etc.


Karma Deck

reviewed by Gigggles Clown (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 01 June, 2015)

Karma DeckExtremely Easy and flawless system. Easy to Understand and even much easier to perform the same integrating in some mind boggling effects. Glad to know about it..


Dark Matter Secrets: 80 Years of Spooky Magic

reviewed by David Devlin (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 30 May, 2015)

Dark Matter Secrets: 80 Years of Spooky MagicThis is a wonderful eBook. It is filled with terrific routines and effects. It ranges from the practical and doable to the "this was put in here for historical purposes". But at less than $10, it is worth every penny.


Anthology of Card Magic

reviewed by Devin Knight
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 27 May, 2015)

Anthology of Card MagicThe out of print Klever Kard Kodes is worth the price of the book by itself. One of the biggest bargains in magic. Devin Knight


Powerhouse Routines

reviewed by Enrico Varella
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 26 May, 2015)

Powerhouse RoutinesPaul Lelekis’s new book ‘Powerhouse Routines’ contains five effects and an essay. However, these are routines that may challenge your thinking and your abilities (sleight of hand, and presentational approaches). The introductory essay is worth reading and re-reading, especially if you are new to Lelekis’s work and his approach to audience management, patter, and performing persona. Lelekis does the ‘unthinkable’ and rewinds one of Marlo’s ubiquitous effects, and seems to do it justice in ‘Find Your Own Card’. Touch Switch is easy to do, and can be used for switching out a card in a natural move. The bonus, Tap Load is a clever way of replacing a palmed card, which always aggrieved me with topping the deck. I pay attention to performers who perform their workhorse routines regularly. Lelekis offers this, and more, and you might just use one of his sleights or revisions to a classic.


Flea Circus

reviewed by Troy Murphie (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 21 May, 2015)

Flea CircusWell worth the admission price!! Some useful ideas for the aspiring Flea Circus entrepreneur.


Zauberkunst alle Jahrgänge (1955 - 2007)

reviewed by Georg Walter (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 18 May, 2015)

Zauberkunst alle Jahrgänge (1955 - 2007)Tja, ich kann niemandem das Produkt wirklich empfehlen. Durch die Bank weg wurden die Hefte s/w gescanned wobei sehr viele Bildinformationen in der digitalen Version richtig schlimm aussehen. Gerade bei Trickbeschreibungen mit Bildinformationen ein absolutes no go. Man erkennt so gut wie nichts. Die bunten Cover der letzten Ausgaben sind gut. Zum Lesen der Artikel reicht die Qualität, wer sich aber eine Trickbeschreibung mit Fotos ausdrucken möchte, wird enttäuscht.


Powerhouse Routines

reviewed by Rick Carruth
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 17 May, 2015)

Powerhouse RoutinesI try to keep up with every ebook Paul publishes. He makes it difficult. Not only does he wirte with style and swagger, but he writes faster than I can read! Jeez, it seems I just enjoyed his last ebook and now.. POWERHOUSE ROUTINES. Paul is an expert at both creating world class routines and sleights, and taking routines initiated by others to entirely new heights. PowerHouse Routines contains both. 'Telekinetic Four Ace Reverse' and 'Find Your Own Card' are Marlo ideas transformed to a hyper degree by Paul. Aside from the basic premise, everything about the handling is completely new to me. 'Gravity' and 'Lelekis'Touch Switch' are uniquely Paul. I particularly like the Touch Switch and can think of a half dozen effects I use regularly that will definitely benefit from this utility.

Last but certainly not least.. Paul has composed an intro worthy of the price of the ebook. The advice is sure and true. There are tips and advice here that will improve your performance regardless of your skill level. I read it, read all the effects.. and went back and re-read the intro. The handling tips are important.. but the performing advice is invaluable.

These are worker effects you will add to your repertoire immediately. These are effects that will make you impatient, hardly able to contain yourself until your next magic meeting. If you aren't familiar with the library of work of Paul Lelekis, this is a great place to start.

Displaying 1077 to 1101 (of 1626 reviews)
< ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 ... >