Lybrary.com: ebooks and download videos
Home / Reviews / Page 44

Read What Others Are Saying: page 44

1103 ★★★★★ reviews
110 ★★★★ reviews
67 ★★★★★ reviews
55 ★★★★★ reviews
75 ★★★★ reviews
Displaying 1086 to 1110 (of 1410 reviews)


Packing Crate Escape or Sub-Trunk Illusions Plan

reviewed by Matt Adams
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 14 May, 2013)

Packing Crate Escape or Sub-Trunk Illusions PlanWell, you get what you pay for...and maybe a little more in this case. When I bought this ebook I had NO idea what I was doing in regards to woodworking. There are multiple errors in the book regarding dimensions, but I figured it out well enough. The BEST part is that he tells you pretty much everything you could possibly need for building this box. THAT is super helpful to the newbie who doesn't know anything! So in short - I was ACTUALLY able to build the box from these plans!!

However, the thing weighs a TON and using 3/4 inch plywood probably wasn't the best choice. I've since learned some new building techniques and would definitely do things very differently if I did it again. But hey...I was able to build my first illusion. I never used it...but I did it. ;)

It now sits in my garage, the lid taken apart and used for other things (since my gimmick wasn't very good...I'd need to remake it anyway) and the four walls and base are assembled and used as storage at the moment. :) But all I would need to do is recut the lid and voila...My trunk is ready to go again. (The lid will definitely be the toughest part)

I didn't like the lid design and it didn't give much room to move about when the gimmick was open. I'd try something different my next go-around. But all in all...not horrible, but certainly not going to be a trunk you'll want to sell to a friend!


The Gimmick MagiZette: Volume 2, Issue 5 (Apr - Jun 2013)

reviewed by Tor Ravengael (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 13 May, 2013)

The Gimmick MagiZette: Volume 2, Issue 5 (Apr - Jun 2013)The Gimmick MagiZette is an amazing bargain. Not only is there some great magic to be learned in every issue, it also provides a fascinating peek into the world of magic in India, both currently and historically. It also is quite entertaining, sometimes unintentionally so due to difficulties in translation. (I'm actually hoping the translation doesn't improve - the peculiar word choices are half the fun!) You wont be dissapointed. A great value.


Get Gigs Right Now

reviewed by Doug Kevilus
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 19 April, 2013)

Get Gigs Right NowAs a performer that's always looking for ways to gain more exposure to potential clients, I decided to pick up Robert Marsi's book to see what I could learn. I figured if it even helped me land one gig, then it's paid for itself. It's not a system where you can expect to make a ton of money right at the start. But it truly is a system that will get you immediate gigs in front of potential planners that are looking for someone just like you. In fact, using the resources he provides in the book I sent out about three dozen email inquiries to different groups. In two days, I booked two different speaking gigs were they were in fact practically begging me to come talk. Nice thing about these gigs is that they are middle of the day events when I typically don't have any performances going on. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to build up a potential client base and get yourself known, especially among those people to have a high potential to need you again later.


Get Gigs Right Now

reviewed by Doug Kevilus
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 18 April, 2013)

Get Gigs Right NowDecided to take a chance on this e-book and see what I could learn. Very easy formula for getting yourself in the public eye of those people that do have the ability to hire you, no matter what level you currently are at. From the very new performer, to the experienced we can all use more exposure. This book gives you the steps and the resources to find those individuals that are looking for you. After reading the material and doing as it instructs I sent out a few dozen emails, two days later I had two gigs booked when the planners called me back.

If you're looking for ways to get noticed and get yourself out there to more potential clients I would recommend this e-book.


Coinman's Packet

reviewed by Unsatisfied Customer
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 18 April, 2013)

Coinman's PacketIt's not magic at all: it's just a book about bar bets with coins...

The description of this item is completely wrong!


Number 5

reviewed by David Lees
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 10 April, 2013)

Number 5The Number Five.

Thank you so much for sharing this. I am going to be very honest here. I genuinely think that this is brilliant. I love it, and if you do not mind I will most certainly use it. To be honest, in my opinion it is the best thing I have read in years.

This is so up my street that it is unbelievable.


What's Up Deck?

reviewed by Don Bursell
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 08 April, 2013)

What's Up Deck?I purchased this as a hardcover book when it was first released, after seeing Aldo perform two Oil & Water routines from it.

I really like this book for two reasons: First, nothing is left out. If a routine calls for a move or sleight, it is taught, and never leaves you running to other resources to learn it. If you look at the table of contents listed here on Lybrary.com, you will see how "full" this book is with sleights and variations. Second, the routines taught in here are not difficult at all, but have a strong impact from a visual and "astonishment" perspective.

The two O&W routines I refer to are "Nice Salad" and "Italian Dressing". One uses just 8 cards, and is very visual. The second uses a 9th (hidden) card, but allows even more visual astonishment.

$10.00 is a steal of a price for the amount of material contained in this book.

So, oddly enough, two of my favorite books on card magic have bright yellow covers: "What's Up Deck?" by Aldo Colombini, and Richard Kaufman's book on Bro. John Hamman's card work.

Don Bursell Mora, MN


Free Choice: a mental effect

reviewed by Joel Kaplan (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 05 April, 2013)

Free Choice: a mental effectI took the description below to mean that there is no counting.

I was wrong.

"Logical sequence (or do you find it logical when the spectator says "six" and the magician answers: "six", OK good, let's spell s-i-x and every letter is a card...)"

Since counting can be involved, depending on the spectator's free choice, I don't recommend this e-book. The method is not new and is very basic. Save your $6.00.

Joel K.


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Douglas Lippert
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 29 March, 2013)

A Fix on Six!If you want to perform close-up magic for a living, these six routines would be a great start! These routines come straight out of the working repertoire of a real magician's magician. Paul has won the Howard Bamman trophy for a good reason. This set of works is well, thought out, magical, and most importantly, entertaining! The presentations provided are excellent. Be sure to modify them to fit your personality though.

“Inspector #1953” - is Paul's entertaining routine for the classic thumb through shirt effect that's been performed on national television in Europe. He provides excellent advice in using this routine as an “in” for performing at restaurants. The method is simple but devious. Highly recommended. “The Trick That Can't Be Explained!” - is one of my favorite card effects from Paul's. If a layman asks you to show them a trick you'll be prepared. Even when they know how it's done it will still be magic! The best part about this effect is that it is totally impromptu and self-working. There are just a few procedures to memorize and then you're all set. “B-Fly” - is a very magical version of the Biddle trick involving an invisible card that gets some good laughs from your spectators. There aren't any tough moves to learn here and Paul describes a great feint by Paul Cummins. This routine is very practical and plays very well. This will get you the money in a professional setting. “A Devilish Miracle II” - This is a solid card effect that gets great reactions and multiple moments of magic. This effect is definitely one of the harder card effects in his notes and is for the experienced card magician. Paul expects the reader to know several card moves that are not explained. Paul makes use of several card sleights for maximum deception. Also, a great card sleight of Harry Lorayne's is explained. Another one of my favorite card effects from Paul!

“CAAN TU” - Card At Any Number has been all the rage among magician's for the last couple years. Paul's take on J.K. Hartman's CAAN is a beauty. I like how the double revelation catches the spectator's off guard. There's a lot of humor in Paul's routine which will help guide you in the right direction towards making it your own. There's a move involved in the routine that if you own JK Hartman's “CAAN Craft” you'll have no problem doing. In the “Post Note” of CAAN TU there's an excellent piece of advice for when a spectator names any card! Don't skip over this!

“Triple Revelation” - This is a great variation on Al Baker's “The Mind Reading Trick” with minimal props that fit in your pockets. I especially liked Paul's variation on the classic playing card force by Balducci. It breaks up the action to make it harder for a spectator to reconstruct the effect!


The Ramsay Legend

reviewed by Scotty Magic
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 28 March, 2013)

The Ramsay LegendConsider your $15 an investment if you buy this classic! Study, absorb and apply the content and consider your money well spent.


My Favorites

reviewed by Laurence Hookway
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Sunday 24 March, 2013)

My FavoritesA friend of mine burned me badly with 'Dream Card' and pointed me to Paul's eBook.

Paul puts his own spin on some of these classic effects and what you have is a brilliant collection of working card routines.

He's obviously worked these for years demonstrated by all the little nuances and tips he drops in here and there. Paul's crediting is full and to be applauded.

You could spend $30 on a DVD and be lucky if you end up with one working effect. For $10 I guarantee you'll get at least 3 or 4 workers to add to your repertoire.

To be honest if I had paid $20 for this I'd still consider it a bargain.

Regards,

Laurence.


A Lightning Rod to the Spirits

reviewed by Phil Reda (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 March, 2013)

A Lightning Rod to the SpiritsJust finished reading this manuscript.   I am  a huge fan of Paul's work and this is another excellent example of his creative out put.  There are four effects.  My favorite is the Nurses Watch followed by the Child  Coloring  Book.  Both in my mind are worth the price of the booklet.  The frying pan routine is one that I will put on the shelf for now as it does require a confident and strong presentation.  Finally the Vampire Salt routine shows how you can take the simplest trick and make it into a spooky story.  This booklet is more of a pathway to get you thinking about all the magical effects that can be re-framed  to this genre of performing. Also what you are getting is story for each effect with some performance comments.  The secret is reveled but you have to already be  familiar with the workings.  All basic stuff.


Trimpromptu Card Magic

reviewed by Feras Alkharboush (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 23 March, 2013)

Trimpromptu Card MagicTrimpromptu is a collection of 3 effects that you probably won't perform, but has ideas that you're likely to enjoy. The first effect contains an idea to use the Cut Deeper force for 2 selections, forcing one and glimpsing the other. The effect is a sucker trick, you seemingly fail to find a selection but you show you're holding the correct one (Dunbury Delusion style), and then *mentally* divine the other selection. 2 phases with different plots not connected to each other in any way. I won't perform it but the Cut Deeper force idea is worth exploring.

The 2nd effect is a reverse Oil and Water ending with a separation (i.e actual Oil and Water). Nothing special here though it does look hectic. You openly displace some cards while they're face down after *displaying* them face up, which isn't as clean as you might wish. For the O&W phase, you *display* the whole packet twice, face up then face down, to get the desired result. Lots of better methods exist for reverse and normal O&W.

The last effect is the worst. A procedural way to find a selection with the theme of memorizing a freely shuffled deck, a theme that's not even done well. You actually have the spectator cut the deck AFTER you have *memorized* the deck. Total nonsense. I actually had to re-read the trick several times to make sure I didn't miss on anything, since this does not resemble a card-memorization routine, at all.

The only thing I got from this is the Cut Deeper force idea. Not sure if it's worth 5 bucks.


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Chris Ostrowski
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Wednesday 20 March, 2013)

A Fix on Six!Reading this material for the first time, it is a wealth of usable close up for performing in close up magic and or parlor. Not only does the author show he has experience but you can feel the passion and energy in his descriptions. Besides the 6 effects offered here, he also gives great words of wisdom to anyone starting out in the realm of restaurant performing. That alone is worth the price of the e-book. These effects are pricless, most is card work, with great homage to the card master of yesteryear. Paul putting his original handling on the effects. I have performed for the past 20 years doing magic in all types of venues, out of all I must say my favorite is restaurants. It allows you to do great feats of magic in short burst and perfect your patter and handling of your chosen effects. If this sounds like you, then buy this e-book. I would highly recommend it.


Twins

reviewed by Alfonso Bartolacci (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 11 March, 2013)

TwinsThis man is a genius and the gratest hypnotist of the world . People write review on his books, talking about routines the do not exist on the Nefesch book ( or should I speak of "psychic mafia ? ) Surfing on the web, on magic cafè forum the review are theese : Nefesch do the effect via skype : boy, this is fantastic, than when you read the book you understand how !! Nefesch do this routine in his drawing room ( when in bath room or toilette ? ) , with strange person taken you do not know where !! Nefesch say on the magic cafè forum that on this book are 5 systems ( before publishing the final book ) , and that 4 are 100% sure fire and 1 99,99 .....boy where are theese routine on the book ? The book is full of material only useful on one on one routine or in front of many but in informal setting , with strategies taken from Ormond Mc Gills etcetera , recycled material that a pro cannot use on stage ( in fact performances are in drawing room, strange and lost places, corridors, skype etc ) Ok man, please remember : when you talk about publishing SOLID ROUTINE, that means that the routine is tested, really tested in front of paying audience , narrowed from hundreds of performances , and with a UNIC METHODOLY that work and some nuances, NOT 11 methods with no rotuine and nuances only ! Hey boy , you are realy kidding, this man is really a fake, whit a terribile standing kind of persona !! And now I will buy immediatly "linked", I am really curious on his fantastic edition of Cordinda material !! This is really a wonderful world Alfonso Bartolacci NLP Trainer Mentalist Author


My Favorites

reviewed by Doug Byrd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 04 March, 2013)

My FavoritesI bought Paul's book just the other day and man was I impressed. I am so looking forward to performing his Dream Card II. This is a real world worker for the close-up entertainer. If the other items in this book are even one-tenth as good as Dream Card II then this booklet will become a classic I'm sure.

Thanks Paul for sharing these routines with the community.


Eight Plus One

reviewed by Bob Solari
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 March, 2013)

Eight Plus OnePaul's material is Fresh, Entertaining and most of all, Fun to perform - three things that sadly lacking in today's magic! His plot's are well thought out and for the most part, easy to execute. If you're a 'worker' or just a hobbyist Don't pass up the material in "Eight Plus One" or "A Fix on Six", they are both winners in my book!

Bob Solari


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Bob Solari
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 02 March, 2013)

A Fix on Six!Paul's material is fresh entertaining and most of all fun to perform - three things that are sadly lacking in a lot of today's magic! His plots are well thought out and for the most part, easy to execute. If you are a 'worker' or just a hobbyist, don't pass up the work in "A Fix on Six" and "Eight Plus One". They are both winners in my book!

Bob Solari


Sawing Illusion Secrets

reviewed by Paris Antonopoulos
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 15 February, 2013)

Sawing Illusion SecretsVery good book with amazing illustrations !!! Reveals with an excelent way all the sawing illusions that you have seen in magic shows performed by big magicians such as David Copperfield and Criss Angel !!! Simple and understandable illustrations !!! One of the best books in the category !!! I really liked it !!! Very good job with illustrations and explanations !!!


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Ronnie Wood
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Tuesday 05 February, 2013)

A Fix on Six!When reading the quotes in the forward of this book, from well known names in magic, I thought Mr Lelekis must be a very experienced close up magician. After reading through his ideas and effects! I realised Mr Paul Lelekis IS a very experienced close up magician. You can actually feel the enthusiasm he has for his work while reading.

After working in a restaurant environment for many years, I still learned a few tricks (no pun intended) from the material and the afterthoughts that Paul provides.

The opening effect of the book, Inspector #1953, which Paul says he usually opens his routine with, is a sure fire way to approach a table and get the other tables noticing you. I’m not going to give the effect away but I know it’ll have many readers jumping to their “magic den” to find that prop that we all own but hardly ever use nowadays!

“The Trick That Can’t Be Explained” is an ingenious routine for when someone asks. “Can you teach me something to show my friends?” It’s based on a mathematical principle that, well, “can’t be explained”! I don’t know about an ingenious routine but Paul Lelekis must have an ingenious mind to have came up with this.

My favourite of the book, B-Fly brings back memories of The Biddle Trick, but so much more up to date. The performer NEVER sees the cards! Although a card trick, it seems to the spectators to be more like mind reading, ESP etc. A mind blowing effect that totally blows them away. (I’ve used this effect a few times and my audience are bewildered!)

I’m not going to comment on every effect. (There are three more. Devilish Miracle II, CAAN TU and Triple Revelation. I’ll leave those privileges for the reader to find!) But just add, when I buy a book nowadays and get one, maybe two usable effects, I am happy! Every effect in this book is workable and entertaining. And isn’t that what we do? Entertain!

The effects in this book and the notes that Paul Lelekis provide have shown me that there is so much more to learn in the art of table hopping! And I learned so much more here.


Impossible

reviewed by Khuldrin Blackphlame
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Thursday 24 January, 2013)

ImpossibleI have combined this effect with another effect I have been doing for years. I understood just how well they worked together when I shared it at the local brick and mortar shop... It has to be good when those in the know look at you like deer in headlights and exclaim @#*% YOU! I carry this with me everywhere.


20 Years a Fakir

reviewed by Paul Budd (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 14 January, 2013)

20 Years a FakirA clever little book, by all accounts. Personally, though, I found it to be a bit more of a biography than a usable "How To" (in the modern sense, at least). The cost is reasonable and it's a pleasant little read. Can't exactly say I'll take many of his "tips" out onto the street tomorrow as a pitch man, but I've just always loved reading about how low-brow entertainers manage to scrape by (mostly on their wits!) The language is quaint and antiquated, but it manages to get its point across, even for a 21st century reader. Recommended......so long as you clearly understand what you're buying.


Ten Mysteries

reviewed by Gerard Zitta (confirmed purchase)
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Saturday 29 December, 2012)

Ten MysteriesThis is exactly the kind of Mentalism I like. Fun to perform, simple, practical and direct. It is also the kind of booklets that "open doors" as the effects use simple and old principles you can apply to your own presentation and style. Even though some effects are described for stage or parlour, they can be modified for close up. Highly recommended! Gerard


A Fix on Six!

reviewed by Mcaig
Rating: ★★★★ (Date Added: Friday 28 December, 2012)

A Fix on Six!The notes are an interesting read. The presentations given may or may not suit you, but the tricks themselves are solid. The great highlight for me was B-Fly, which is a streamlined and very easy to follow use of the particular move. A very good trick.


Jinx

reviewed by Paul Hallas
Rating: ★★★★★ (Date Added: Monday 24 December, 2012)

JinxWell worth having, Annemann's Practical Mental Effects was culled from these pages as was his card magic book. I actually own the hardcover versions rather than this e-edition book, but truthfully, anyone interested in mentalism or card magic should have The Jinx to refer to and at $15 it may be one of the best purchases you'll make all year.

Displaying 1086 to 1110 (of 1410 reviews)
< ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 ... >